Martin strike sees Canaries advance

Published Add your comment

Football News

Chris Martin's love affair with the Johnstone's Paint Trophy continued at Carrow Road as his solitary goal was enough to earn Norwich a place in the second round at the expense of Brentford.

The young striker helped Luton to the final of last season's competition while on loan and scored as they beat Scunthorpe 3-2 at Wembley.

He was on target again with a well-taken 30th-minute goal which settled a well-contested game between two equally good sides.

Carlisle recorded a dramatic 4-2 penalty shoot-out win over Morecambe after a 2-2 draw in regular time.

Ian Harte, Kevan Hurst, Tony Kane and Gary Madine all kept their cool for Greg Abbott's side, while for the hosts Mark Duffy and Wayne Curtis both saw efforts saved by Adam Collin.

Two first-half blunders from goalkeeper Adam Legzdins helped Stockport on their way to a thumping 4-1 win at Crewe, while in-form striker Carl Baker grabbed a hat-trick.

A stirring finish from Bradford helped them come from a goal down to beat Rochdale 2-1 at Spotland, while striker Jermaine Easter blasted a brace as MK Dons eased past League Two leaders Dagenham 3-1.

Mark McCammon was Gillingham's hero with a nervous penalty in a 4-3 shootout win over Colchester after the game finished 1-1, while Chris Dunn was on hand to save two penalties to help Northampton spring a 3-0 shootout surprise after their clash with Wycombe ended 2-2 after 90 minutes.

Meanwhile, Barnet sent Millwall crashing to a shock 2-0 defeat, Wade Small marked his full debut with a double as Chesterfield cruised past Burton 5-1, Rotherham were beaten 2-1 by Huddersfield, Colchester beat Cheltenham 3-1 and struggling Walsall were knocked out 5-4 on penalties by Bury after both sides failed to score in normal time.

Elsewhere, Bournemouth beat Yeovil 2-1 to advance, Lincoln lost 1-0 to Darlington, Accrington saw off Oldham 2-1 and Hereford knocked Bristol Rovers out 4-2 on penalties after the game had finished goalless.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Yeovil Town
Colchester United
Norwich City
Crewe Alexandra
Chris Martin
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Jermaine Easter
Chris Martin
Wayne Curtis
Tony Kane
Scunthorpe United
League One
Gary Madine
Carl Baker
Huddersfield Town
Adam Legzdins
Hereford United
Ian Harte
Cheltenham Town
Bradford City
Mark McCammon
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
League Two
Kevan Hurst
Chris Dunn
Wade Small

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again