Rotherham go top

Published Add your comment

Football News

Rotherham overcame the absence of manager Mark Robins to move top of Coca-Cola League Two with a 3-1 win over Chesterfield.

Robins was placed on gardening leave this week after being linked with the post at Barnsley and his team initially started slowly as a Jamie Lowry penalty put them behind after 21 minutes at the Don Valley Stadium.

But the Millers hit back in the second half to win with goals from Danny Harrison, Adam Le Fondre and Kevin Ellison.

Bournemouth, who like Rotherham suffered a points deduction last season, moved second after substitute Steve Fletcher secured a 2-1 win at Torquay with an 87th-minute header.

Sven-Goran Eriksson's cash-rich Notts County were forced to settle for a 1-1 draw with League newcomers Burton Albion at Meadow Lane. Dagenham & Redbridge climbed to third despite being pegged back to a 1-1 draw at Cheltenham.

Joel Grant struck five minutes from time to hand Crewe a 2-1 win over Macclesfield at Gresty Road. Calvin Zola was also on target for the Railwaymen but Reneil Sappleton cancelled out his early effort.

Two goals from Tristan Plummer were not enough for Hereford as Aldershot hit back with a late double to claim a 2-2 draw at the EBB Stadium.

On-loan Peterborough striker Rene Howe scored twice as Lincoln beat Darlington 3-0. Chris Fagan added the third.

Robert Grant scored twice in the last seven minutes as Accrington Stanley won 2-0 at Bury while Port Vale thrashed 10-man Grimsby 4-0. Louis Dodds, Tommy Fraser, Gareth Owen and Lee Collins were all on target while team-mate Marc Richards also missed a penalty after Town's Danny Boshell was sent off.

Gareth Evans and Michael Flynn struck as Bradford earned a 2-1 win at Shrewsbury, who claimed a consolation through Dave Hibbert.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Crewe Alexandra
Rotherham United
Tristan Plummer
Joel Grant
Shrewsbury Town
Dave Hibbert
Dagenham & Redbridge
Bristol City
Louis Dodds
Jamie Lowry
Danny Harrison
Marc Richards
Hereford United
Port Vale
Cheltenham Town
Robert Grant
Bradford City
Lee Collins
Tristan Plummer
Steve Fletcher
Calvin Zola
Adam Le Fondre
Reneil Sappleton
Rene Howe
Rene Howe
Burton Albion
Gareth Owen
League Two
Michael Flynn
Reneil Sappleton
Tommy Fraser
Accrington Stanley
Notts County
Danny Boshell
Kevin Ellison
Gareth Evans

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again