Championship front runners draw blanks

Published Add your comment

Football News

Coca-Cola Championship promotion rivals Preston and West Brom cancelled each other out in a 0-0 draw at Deepdale on Saturday.

The two sides are among the favourites to gain promotion to the Barclays Premier League, but there were few glimpses of genuine quality in a drab encounter.

Albion remain in second place as a result of the draw, three points behind leaders Newcastle, whose game against Bristol City ended goalless, while Preston slip to fifth.

Middlesbrough eased some of the pressure on manager Gareth Southgate with a 2-0 victory over Reading at the Madejski Stadium. Sean St Ledger grabbed the opener for the Teessiders, heading home Adam Johnson's cross in the 12th minute to register his first goal for the club before Leroy Lita added a brilliant second 10 minutes after the break.

Martyn Waghorn's second-half strike earned Leicester a point in a 1-1 draw against Coventry at the Ricoh Arena while two goals from Peter Whittingham plus strikes from Adam Matthews and Jay Bothroyd gave Cardiff a 4-0 win over Watford.

At the other end of the table, Roy Keane's poor luck continued after Jonathan Macken's stoppage-time winner for Barnsley gave them a 2-1 win over Ipswich.

Fellow strugglers Peterborough slipped to a 2-1 defeat against Nottingham Forest but Plymouth finally recorded their first win at Home Park with a 2-1 victory over Scunthorpe,

Crystal Palace cruised to a 4-1 victory in their game against Blackpool while goals from Lee Croft, James McEveley and Rob Hulse saw Derby beat Sheffield Wednesday 3-0.

Elsewhere, James Hayter scored on the stroke of half-time to give Doncaster a scarcely-deserved lead against Sheffield United at Bramall Lane. But on-loan striker Richard Cresswell equalised with a brave diving header on his first start to secure a 1-1 draw.

QPR shot themselves in the foot at the Liberty Stadium as they slumped to a 2-0 defeat against Swansea, ending the game with nine men as Martin Rowlands and Ben Watson were sent off.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
Rob Hulse
Bristol City
Peter Whittingham
Sean St Ledger
Scunthorpe United
James Hayter
Ben Watson
Premier League
Cardiff City
Preston North End
Lee Croft
Derby County
James McEveley
Adam Matthews
Jonathan Macken
Martin Rowlands
Nottingham Forest
Roy Keane
Gareth Southgate
Richard Cresswell
Queens Park Rangers
Martyn Waghorn
Sheffield United
Crystal Palace
Leroy Lita
Coventry City
Adam Johnson
Plymouth Argyle
Swansea City
Ben Watson
Jay Bothroyd

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again