Ipswich finally claim first win

Published Add your comment

Football News

Ipswich finally broke their Coca-Cola Championship duck as David Wright netted the winner in a 1-0 victory over Derby.

Roy Keane's side remain bottom despite their first victory of the season, achieved when Wright headed in on 66 minutes.

Plymouth and Reading stayed above the Tractor Boys with victories of their own.

Grzegorz Rasiak put the Royals ahead in the opening minute at Coventry and they did not look back in a 3-1 triumph. Jobi McAnuff made it two and Rasiak secured the points 18 minutes from time after Freddy Eastwood had halved the deficit.

Plymouth ensured it was a losing start for Gordon Strachan as Middlesbrough boss, Jamie Mackie netting the only goal in the 64th minute. Adam Johnson missed a golden chance to equalise 10 minutes from time when he missed a penalty.

West Brom regained top spot from Newcastle in emphatic style with a 5-0 victory over Watford.

With the Magpies and Cardiff not in action until Monday night, the Baggies took full advantage with goals from Jonas Olsson and Graeme Dorrans putting them in charge at the interval. Things got even better in the second half as Luke Moore, Gianni Zuiverloon and Simon Cox boosted West Brom's goal difference.

Bristol City climbed to fifth despite being held to a 1-1 draw by Sheffield Wednesday, while Doncaster and Blackpool shared the points after a see-saw battle that saw Rovers twice take the lead only to need a last-minute goal from Billy Sharp to secure a 3-3 draw.

Preston were also limited to a point as they climbed to eighth after a 1-1 draw with Crystal Palace as Peterborough dropped to second bottom after Barnsley came from behind to win 2-1 at London Road.

Swansea picked up maximum points on the road as Craig Beattie's superb free-kick and a second-half strike from Cedric van der Gun gave the Welsh side a 2-0 win at Scunthorpe.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Luke Moore
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
Bristol City
Gianni Zuiverloon
Scunthorpe United
Grzegorz Rasiak
Craig Beattie
Cardiff City
Gordon Strachan
Newcastle United
Preston North End
Derby County
Billy Sharp
Roy Keane
Jamie Mackie
David Wright
Jonas Olsson
Crystal Palace
Jobi McAnuff
Freddy Eastwood
Simon Cox
Coventry City
Adam Johnson
Plymouth Argyle
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again