Coventry salvage draw at QPR

Published Add your comment

Football News

There was late drama at Loftus Road as visitors Coventry salvaged a 2-2 draw against QPR.

Leon Best headed the visitors 1-0 up from eight yards after 16 minutes, but Jay Simpson cleverly flicked in a reply.

QPR led through Akos Buzsaky on 69 minutes, only for Richard Wood to claw Coventry level 10 minutes from time. The away side then had Stephen Wright sent off for a second booking.

Bristol City thought they had grabbed a late equaliser against Sheffield United, only for the game to be snatched away.

United looked to be cruising after Darius Henderson's quickfire double but Louis Carey cut the deficit on 53 minutes and Alvaro Saborio scored in the fifth minute of injury time - but Henderson completed his hat-trick a minute later.

Crystal Palace dominated Watford to run out 3-0 winners. Victor Moses and Alan Lee had the Eagles 2-0 up inside six minutes and Julian Speroni saved David Graham's spot-kick before Darren Ambrose scored the third.

Nottingham Forest ran out 4-1 winners over Doncaster. A Gareth Roberts own goal set Forest on their way and goals from Wes Morgan, Robert Earnshaw and Lewis McGugan meant Jason Shackell's late effort was a mere consolation.

Middlesbrough were held 2-2 away at basement club Peterborough. Dave Kitson put the visitors 1-0 up in the first half, but George Boyd equalised.

Kitson got his second after great work by Adam Johnson but Sean Batt smashed in a long-range leveller. Middlesbrough manager Gordon Strachan was livid late on as he felt a foul on Sean St Ledger should have earned his side a penalty.

Barnsley will count themselves unlucky as they recovered from Karl Duguid's early goal to lead 4-1 through Daniel Bogdanovic, Emil Hallfredsson, Adam Hammill and Ryan Shotton, but a waterlogged pitch meant they will have to do it all over again.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Alvaro Saborio
Doncaster Rovers
Leon Best
Akos Buzsaky
Karl Duguid
Jason Shackell
Darius Henderson
Bristol City
Jay Simpson
Alan Lee
David Graham
Wes Morgan
Gareth Roberts
Sean St Ledger
Louis Carey
Darren Ambrose
Robert Earnshaw
Richard Wood
Gordon Strachan
Ryan Shotton
Julian Speroni
Stephen Wright
Nottingham Forest
George Boyd
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield United
Victor Moses
Crystal Palace
Dave Kitson
Lewis McGugan
Coventry City
Adam Johnson
Daniel Bogdanovic
Adam Hammill

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again