Hassell's late header denies Magpies

Published Add your comment

Football News

Barnsley's Bobby Hassell headed home three minutes from time to deny Coca-Cola Championship leaders Newcastle an eighth successive victory.

Newcastle had taken the lead at Oakwell through top-scorer Kevin Nolan's sixth-minute effort but were pegged back when Emil Hallfredsson netted seven minutes into the second half. Marlon Harewood restored the table-toppers' lead with 12 minutes to play but Hassell ensured a draw for the Tykes when he nodded in from Adam Hamill's late corner.

Nottingham Forest continued their recent push to pick up a 1-0 win at Swansea, taking them to third in the standings. David McGoldrick was the scorer, volleying 10 minutes before the half-time break.

Sheffield Wednesday manager Brian Laws is likely to see the pressure surrounding his position as Owls boss reach fever pitch after his side capitulated 3-0 at fourth-placed Leicester. Steve Howard got the ball rolling early on for the Foxes before Andy King scored in either half to make it comfortable.

Welsh striker Freddy Eastwood scored a hat-trick to ensure Coventry finished on the right side of a five-goal thriller against Peterborough at the Ricoh Arena.

Eastwood netted twice in as many minutes in the first half before Craig Mackhail-Smith added a brace of his own in five second-half minutes. But Eastwood struck the winner just seconds after Posh levelled.

Roy Keane presided over a third win as Ipswich boss as goals from Jon Stead, Jack Colback and Gareth McAuley secured a 3-1 victory over Blackpool. Ian Evatt scored for the Tangerines, who had David Vaughan sent off late on.

Doncaster beat Bristol City 1-0, with Billy Sharp the scorer after 12 minutes, while Derby's Chris Porter scored the only goal against Watford.

Richard Chaplow and Ross Wallace both hit the target as Preston beat Plymouth 2-0 at Deepdale, with Lee Williamson and Stephen Quinn helping Sheffield United claim the same scoreline against Crystal Palace.

Reading and Scunthorpe drew 1-1, with Grzegorz Rasiak and Gary Hooper the scorers.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
David Vaughan
Leicester City
Ross Wallace
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Sheffield Wednesday
Bristol City
David McGoldrick
Kevin Nolan
Scunthorpe United
Grzegorz Rasiak
Marlon Harewood
Andy King
Preston North End
Derby County
Steve Howard
Chris Porter
Stephen Quinn
Lee Williamson
Billy Sharp
Nottingham Forest
Roy Keane
Jack Colback
Gareth McAuley
Sheffield United
Gary Hooper
Richard Chaplow
Bobby Hassell
Crystal Palace
Freddy Eastwood
Coventry City
Plymouth Argyle
Ian Evatt
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again