Football

Conte at Stamford Bridge.

Antonio Conte explains why David Luiz shouldn't have been sent off against Arsenal

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Arsenal produced a much more disciplined performance away to one of their rivals on Sunday afternoon as they picked up a point against Chelsea.

The Gunners have been on the receiving end of multiple humiliations on the road in recent years and lost to both Stoke City and Liverpool in their previous two away league games.

However, Arsene Wenger's side looked far more balanced at Stamford Bridge, and the likes of Danny Welbeck and Alexandre Lacazette missed great chances to put them ahead.

SIGN UP NOW

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Sign up now and submit a 250-word test article HERE

Wenger has labelled the match a "great response" following the 4-0 thrashing at Anfield, meanwhile his opposite number has been left ruing a big moment which happened late on.

Referee Michael Oliver awarded David Luiz a straight red card three minutes from time, but Antonio Conte has explained why his player shouldn't have been sent off.

Luiz receives straight red card against Arsenal

With Eden Hazard on and Chelsea trying to find a winning goal, Luiz was given his marching orders after a strong challenge with Sead Kolasinac.

As the Brazilian approached Arsenal's left wing-back, his right foot was in the air and studs were showing, but he seemed to be distracted by Alexis Sanchez beforehand.

FBL-ENG-PR-CHELSEA-ARSENAL

Alexis was putting him under pressure as the ball got close to the touchline, and Conte believes that the Chilean committed a foul before Luiz's clash with Kolasinac.

Conte explains why Luiz shouldn't have seen red

"David Luiz, you know very well that I don't like to comment about the referee," Conte told Sky Sports, via Goal.

"I didn't do this it in the past and I don't do it in the present. The only thing I can tell is you need to see what happened before the tackle.

When asked if he thought Sanchez fouled Luiz before the defender saw red, the clearly annoyed Chelsea boss simply replied: "Yeah."

Arsenal FC v 1. FC Koeln - UEFA Europa League

In his post-match press conference, Conte went on to say: "For sure, that was a foul (Alexis on Luiz). For sure. But, I repeat, the referee took this decision.

"If he stopped the play before, it (Luiz's challenge) wouldn't matter. I repeat, in this situation, a player is fouled in a continuing way – he continued to push him."

The red card forced Conte to take off striker Alvaro Morata, but he's insisting that Alexis should have been penalised for what he did to make Luiz lose possession beforehand.

FBL-ENG-PR-CHELSEA-ARSENAL

The 0-0 result meant Chelsea failed to score at home in the league for the first time under the Italian, and their star centre-back could be set for a lengthy suspension too.

Do YOU think Alexis fouled Luiz before Luiz was sent off for his high tackle on Kolasinac? Leave YOUR opinion in the comments box below!

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms

Topics:
David Luiz
Arsene Wenger
Eden Hazard
Football
Alexis Sanchez

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again