Wednesday hit back to hold Magpies

Published Add your comment

Football News

Sheffield Wednesday scored for the first time since early November to hold runaway Coca-Cola Championship leaders Newcastle to a 2-2 draw at Hillsborough.

The Magpies fell behind in the 14th minute to Luke Varney's header, Wednesday's first goal since November 7.

A Kevin Nolan header and a Shola Ameobi finish in the space of three minutes had United in front by midway through the first half, but James O'Connor snatched a point for the Owls in the 59th minute when he fired home from six yards.

Cardiff missed the chance to make up ground on the leaders as they conceded a late winner to lose 1-0 at home to Plymouth, who ended a run of five straight defeats without a goal. Gary Sawyer's goal decided the game in the 84th minute.

Nottingham Forest had to settle for a goalless draw at Watford, their ninth draw on the road this term.

Crystal Palace came from behind to beat 10-man Ipswich 3-1 at Selhurst Park.

Jaime Peters put Town ahead in the 19th minute, but Jose Fonte levelled in the 38th minute and Jonathan Stead was given a straight red card a minute later for a late, but not malicious, challenge on Freddie Sears.

Neil Danns put the Eagles ahead in the 58th minute and Victor Moses sealed the points in added time.

QPR were 2-1 winners over Bristol City thanks to goals from Jay Simpson (31) and Mikele Leigertwood (40), with Nicky Maynard (57) replying for City.

Preston's match against Barnsley at Deepdale was called off because areas around the ground were deemed unsafe, although the pitch did pass an inspection.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Ipswich Town
Sheffield Wednesday
Freddie Sears
Bristol City
Jay Simpson
Jose Fonte
Kevin Nolan
James O'Connor
Cardiff City
Newcastle United
Preston North End
Neil Danns
Gary Sawyer
Nottingham Forest
Freddie Sears
Nicky Maynard
Jonathan Stead
Queens Park Rangers
Luke Varney
Victor Moses
Mikele Leigertwood
James O'Connor
Crystal Palace
Shola Ameobi
Jaime Peters
Plymouth Argyle

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again