Boro claim first win for Strachan

Published Add your comment

Football News

Gordon Strachan finally tasted his first home win in charge of Middlesbrough as they brushed aside 10-man Scunthorpe 3-0.

The visitors were always up against it from the moment Cliff Byrne was sent off for bringing down Jeremie Aliadiere in the area.

Adam Johnson, who missed a penalty in Strachan's first game as boss, made no mistake this time to give Boro an 11th-minute lead. Rhys Williams added a second in the 45th minute and Aliadiere a third a minute after the break.

The match ended on a sour note for Boro, though, as Leroy Lita was shown a straight red card for foul and abusive language in the 89th minute.

West Brom closed the gap on Newcastle as Luke Moore's 61st-minute goal set them on their way to a 2-0 home win over Peterborough, who dropped to the foot of the standings.

Ryan Bennett's own goal in the 67th minute sealed Posh's fate.

Swansea were held to a 1-1 draw at Reading, Gylfi Sigurdsson's free-kick on the stroke of half-time cancelling out Darren Pratley's opener for the Swans.

Jake Buxton's 38th-minute own goal and a Brett Ormerod strike (79) earned play-off hopefuls Blackpool a 2-0 win at Derby, who ended the match with 10 men following Dean Moxey's 85th-minute red card.

Clinton Morrison converted an 85th-minute penalty to give Coventry - for whom Leon Best also missed a first-half spot-kick - a 1-0 win at home to Doncaster.

In the day's late kick-off, Leicester beat Sheffield United 2-1 at the Walkers Stadium thanks to a 26th-minute header from Michael Morrison and a 35th-minute penalty from Matt Fryatt. Henri Camara pulled a goal back for the Blades two minutes after the break, but they could not find another.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Peterborough United
Leicester City
Doncaster Rovers
Luke Moore
Matt Fryatt
Leon Best
West Bromwich Albion
Darren Pratley
Henri Camara
Scunthorpe United
Jake Buxton
Gordon Strachan
Jeremie Aliadiere
Derby County
Clinton Morrison
Sheffield United
Ryan Bennett
Michael Morrison
Brett Ormerod
Leroy Lita
Gylfi Sigurdsson
Coventry City
Rhys Williams
Adam Johnson
Dean Moxey
Swansea City
Cliff Byrne

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again