Howard strike denies Ipswich

Published Add your comment

Football News

Ipswich caught Leicester cold with a goal after only 20 seconds but Nigel Pearson's side recovered from the early setback to earn a 1-1 draw in the Coca-Cola Championship clash at the Walkers Stadium.

The visitors did not take long to warm up. Jonathan Walters won the ball in midfield and set Jack Colback free down the left side and His low cross looked to have been turned in at the near post by David Norris but television replays showed that Ryan McGivern got the last touch.

Leicester had scored in their last 11 games so Roy Keane's side faced a tough task to hold on to their lead and Steve Howard secured a point for the Foxes late in the first half.

The goal had been coming, with Robbie Neilson and Richie Wellens sending shots wide and Grant Leadbitter denying Howard an equalising goal just after the half-hour mark.

But Ipswich were still a threat and Chris Weale was called into action to tip efforts from Walters and former Fox Gareth McAuley over the crossbar.

Lloyd Dyer was the architect for Howard's goal, cutting inside from the right-hand side, Keane's side had a couple of opportunities to clear the ball but it eventually broke to Howard just inside the 18-yard box and the burly striker beat Arran Lee-Barrett with a low shot into the corner.

Barrett got away with fumbling a headed effort from Matty Fryatt early in the second half before Walters headed wide at the other end just before the hour mark.

There had been a fiery undercurrent to the game and it threatened to boil over following a tangle between Norris and Fryatt in the centre circle. It sparked a melee involving players from both sides but referee Mark Haywood opted to keep his cards in his pocket after consulting his assistant.

Soon afterwards, Leicester's leading scorer Fryatt was then denied his 13th goal of the season by a superb save from Barrett.

Leadbitter had the final chance of the game but his shot from the edge of the area cleared the crossbar. The Foxes remain in fifth place in the Championship while Ipswich's resurgence continues - they have lost only once in the league in 13 matches - but they stay in 18th position.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Arran Lee-Barrett
Leicester City
Ipswich Town
Grant Leadbitter
Lloyd Dyer
Ryan McGivern
Robbie Neilson
David Norris
Steve Howard
Matty Fryatt
Roy Keane
Jack Colback
Gareth McAuley
Jonathan Walters
Chris Weale

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again