Marca reveal The Best FIFA Men's Player winner

For years, the Ballon d’Or has been the biggest individual prize in European football.

Players, coaches and journalists have voted each year to crown the best player in Europe with either Lionel Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo picking up the award in each of the past nine years.

But there is a new award in town.

FIFA have come up with their very own ‘The Best’ award ceremony.

Similar to the Ballon d’Or, there is a vote to decide the winner.

During its inaugural year last season, it was Cristiano Ronaldo picking up the trophy after leading Real Madrid to the Champions League and Portugal to the European Championship.

Last year, the awards were held in January – the same month as the Ballon d’Or.

However, this year, FIFA have moved the ceremony to October in order to differentiate themselves from the Ballon d’Or gala. While the Ballon d’Or recognises the best player in the calendar year, FIFA look to reward the best player of the previous season.

Therefore, It will be held on Monday 23 October in London.

And Spanish media think they know the winners.

Marca have produced a report that names the winner – and losers – ahead of Monday’s awards night.

The main award is The Best FIFA Men’s Player. Unsurprisingly, it’s claimed that Ronaldo will pick up that trophy after helping Madrid win the league and their second consecutive Champions League title.

That means that Lionel Messi and Neymar will be second and third.

As for the managers, Marca suggest that Zinedine Zidane has beaten both Antonio Conte and Massimiliano Allegri to that prize.

Meanwhile, legendary goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon has beaten Keylor Navas and Manuel Neuer to the best goalkeeper.

If Ronaldo and Zidane winning the awards wasn’t good enough, Marca claim that Madrid have as many as five players in the World XI with Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric all being named in it.

It seems Madrid will be deservedly rewarded for their fantastic 2016/17 campaign.

News Now - Sport News