WWE logo.

WWE officials have a big angle in store for Survivor Series

Published Add your comment

Football News

WWE has a big angle in mind for this year’s Survivor Series.

The Survivor Series (PPV) pay-per-view event takes place on Sunday, November 19, 2017 in Houston, Texas at the Toyota Center and will air on the WWE Network and some traditional pay-per-view outlets. Both Raw and SmackDown brands will be featured.

Survivor Series is the second longest running pay-per-view event in WWE history (behind WrestleMania) and one of the "Big Four" events, along with WrestleMania, Royal Rumble, and SummerSlam, as it is one of the original four pay-per-views produced by WWE.

The first Survivor Series, held in 1987, came on the heels of the success of WrestleMania III. What’s interesting is that Survivor Series was originally created to be a "Thanksgiving tradition" as the first eight Survivor Series events took place on either Thanksgiving Day (1987-1990) or Thanksgiving Eve (1991-1994). However, since 1995, the event has been held the Sunday before Thanksgiving.

Historically, there are tag-team elimination matches usually pitting teams of four or five wrestlers against each other. These matches are generally referred to simply as "Survivor Series matches." The 2002 Survivor Series is notable for the debut of the Elimination Chamber match.

A new report shows that the promotional spots for Survivor Series will use an old PPV name to push the inter-brand feuds. PWInsider reports that WWE is bringing back the name “bragging rights.” The report goes on to state that the event will likely be all about a "Raw vs. SmackDown" angle.

The Bragging Rights event was established in 2009, replacing Cyber Sunday in the late October slot of WWE's pay-per-view calendar. The concept of the show involves a series of interpromotional matches for "bragging rights" between wrestlers from the Raw and SmackDown brands with a Bragging Rights trophy awarded as a prize. Among the matches, a 14-man tag team match is held between the two brands. Back in 2009, the show that won the most matches out of the series won the trophy.

However, in 2010, the winning brand was simply determined by the 14-man tag team match. The SmackDown brand won the trophy both times the event was held. It should be noted that in 2011, Bragging Rights was replaced by a returning WWE Vengeance as the October scheduled event.

But, in 2012, WWE opted to have only one pay-per-view in October, WWE Hell in a Cell, scraping Vengeance and moving Hell in a Cell to the last Sunday in October

What are your thoughts on the plans that the sports entertainment company has in mind for this event? Have YOUR say in the comments section below and the fourth episode of GiveMeSport’s WWE podcast is here!

Check it out via this link: https://soundcloud.com/user-818579649/gms-wwe-podcast-money-in-the-bank-fallout

Vince McMahon

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again