England fans are shocked by Gareth Southgate's vote for the FIFA Best Player award

Published Add your comment

Football News

Cristiano Ronaldo was the big winner during FIFA’s ‘The Best’ award night in London.

The Portuguese superstar was named the winner of the Best Men’s Player for a second consecutive year and was picked in the FIFPro World XI.

In his acceptance speech, Ronaldo thanked everyone who voted for him as well as second-placed Lionel Messi, third-placed Neymar and his Real Madrid teammates.

"Thank you for voting for me,” he said.

“I want to mention Leo (Messi) and Neymar to be here. I want to thank Real Madrid for their support all year. We are in England for the first time, and I win it for the second consecutive time. This is a great moment for me. Thank you to all my fans all over the world. I appreciate that. I'm so happy, thank you very much and have a good night!"

The award is voted for by a collection of journalists, national team coaches, national team captains and the general public - each with a 25 percent weighting towards the overall vote. So who did actually vote for Ronaldo?

Well, 43.16% of the voters actually, with England manager Gareth Southgate being one of them.

However, the England boss has come under fire for his top three selection.

Lithuania v England - FIFA 2018 World Cup Qualifier

Southgate's vote for FIFA Player of the Year

Not for the fact that he picked Ronaldo but the fact he didn’t pick Messi in his top three. No, seriously.

Here’s who Southgate went for:

1st | 5 points | Cristiano Ronaldo
2nd | 3 points | Luka Modric
3rd | 1 point | Toni Kroos


That’s almost as bad as when Roy Hodgson voted for Javier Mascherano back in 2015!

And England fans weren’t too impressed. They questioned their manager’s judgment if he doesn’t think the five-time Ballon d’Or winner is in the top three players in the world.

England fans react

Check out the reaction:

Of course, Southgate’s vote is likely to be more political than his actual belief.

He clearly wanted Ronaldo to win the award and helped him by not giving any points to his nearest rival.

Gareth Southgate
England Football
Wayne Rooney
Premier League
Steven Gerrard
Lionel Messi
Real Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo
La Liga

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again