Addicks held by Saddlers

Published Add your comment

Football News

Charlton missed the chance to close the gap on second-placed Leeds as they drew 1-1 in their Coca-Cola League One trip to Walsall.

The Saddlers went ahead through Troy Deeney's 32nd-minute header only for the third-placed Addicks to level a minute before the break. Deon Burton's penalty cancelled out the hosts' opener after Matthew Richards fouled Therry Racon in the box.

When Deeney was sent off for a professional foul on Scott Wagstaff with less than 15 minutes remaining Charlton had the chance to grab three vital points but were unable to press home their advantage.

Fourth-placed Colchester came from behind to beat Carlisle 2-1. Clive Platt (61) headed an equaliser after Ian Harte had nodded Carlisle ahead in the 23rd minute, but a winner was not forthcoming until deep into added time when Kayode Odejayi popped up with the crucial goal.

Leyton Orient enjoyed a 5-0 rout of ninth-placed Bristol Rovers. Stephen Purches (26) put Orient ahead before a second-half blitz saw goals by Ryan Jarvis, goalkeeper Mikkel Andersen's own goal, Jason Demetriou and Jonathan Tehoue.

Stockport v Oldham had earlier been postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

In League Two, Bournemouth moved to within a point of leaders Rochdale with a 3-1 win at fellow promotion hopefuls Rotherham.

After going behind to Tom Pope's first-half header, the Cherries roared back through Brett Pittman's 47th-minute equaliser before Danny Hollands' brace in the 59th and 67th minutes.

Shaun Miller's equaliser a minute into added time earned Crewe a 1-1 draw at home to Torquay, who had been in front since Chris Zebroski's seventh-minute opener.

Gavin McCallum's brace gave Hereford a 2-0 win over Lincoln while Accrington v Barnet was postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Colchester United
Crewe Alexandra
Bristol Rovers
Clive Platt
Troy Deeney
Chris Zebroski
Shaun Miller
League One
Therry Racon
Matthew Richards
Hereford United
Ian Harte
Jason Demetriou
Gavin McCallum
Danny Hollands
Tom Pope
Jonathan Tehoue
Kayode Odejayi
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Mikkel Andersen
League Two
Stephen Purches
Scott Wagstaff
Leeds United
Ryan Jarvis
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Deon Burton

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again