Baggies stay on track

Published Add your comment

Football News

Simon Cox's second-half volley was enough to keep West Brom in the Coca-Cola Championship automatic promotion places with a 1-0 win at Plymouth.

The former Swindon forward fired home from close range, meaning Graham Dorrans' late failure to convert a penalty did not prove crucial.

Dexter Blackstock bagged a double as Nottingham Forest remain third in the table after a 2-1 win over Sheffield Wednesday at the City Ground.

Blackstock opened the scoring with a 24th-minute penalty after Darren Purse had handled in the area. Luke Varney levelled for Wednesday but Blackstock struck again with 10 minutes remaining.

David Cotterill scored one goal and created another as Swansea defeated Preston 2-0 in the early kick-off at the Liberty Stadium to keep their bid for a play-off place on track.

The Swans' club record signing curled home a fine first-half free-kick and crossed for Ashley Williams to head home a second goal after the break in a one-sided encounter.

Daryl Murphy marked his Ipswich debut in sensational fashion by scoring in the opening minute of their clash with Middlesbrough.

Murphy struck after just 23 seconds having being set up by fellow debutant David Healy, who also arrived on loan from Sunderland on transfer deadline day, but David Wheater's goal saw the game end 1-1.

Meanwhile, Aaron Mclean's ninth-minute strike gave Peterborough a 1-0 win over nine-man QPR, Lee Williamson's last-minute equaliser saw Sheffield United secure a 1-1 draw against Derby and Neil Danns struck a late winner as financially-troubled Crystal Palace beat Scunthorpe at Glanford Park.

Elsewhere, Barnsley claimed a valuable home win over Watford, Leicester kept themselves firmly in the play-off picture with a 2-1 win at Blackpool and the day's other 3pm kick-off saw Bristol City draw 1-1 with Coventry at Ashton Gate.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Daryl Murphy
Peterborough United
Leicester City
Ashley Williams
Ipswich Town
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
Bristol City
Scunthorpe United
Graham Dorrans
Ashley Williams
Swindon Town
Aaron Mclean
Preston North End
Neil Danns
Derby County
Lee Williamson
Dexter Blackstock
Nottingham Forest
Darren Purse
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield United
Luke Varney
David Wheater
Crystal Palace
Simon Cox
David Healy
Coventry City
David Cotterill
Plymouth Argyle
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again