Carlisle United Vs Milton Keynes Dons, Sat 13 Feb 2010

Published Add your comment

Football News

Carlisle boss Greg Abbott could keep faith with the side that beat Leeds in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy Northern Area final on Tuesday when MK Dons visit Brunton Park.

The Cumbrians earned a famous penalty shootout victory over Leeds to secure a trip to Wembley and Abbott faces a selection dilemma.

On-loan Bristol Rovers striker Darryl Duffy and Stoke youngster Ben Marshall were both ineligible on Tuesday night but are back in contention and pushing for a recall.

Striker Joe Anyinsah recovered from a hamstring injury but missed out against Leeds due to illness but he is expected to be fit to face Paul Ince's side.

Goalkeeper Adam Collin is expected to be between the posts once again after being preferred to Lenny Pidgeley in midweek.

MK Dons could be forced to name coach Alex Rae on the bench as their injury crisis shows no sign of easing.

Rae, 40, came on for the last 10 minutes of the Johnstone's Paint Trophy defeat at Southampton in midweek for his first appearance since October 2007 and is likely to be among Paul Ince's replacements at Brunton Park.

Dan Woodards came off at half-time of the 3-1 defeat to the Saints on Tuesday night with a groin strain to leave Ince with real problems in defence.

Woodards joins fellow defenders Sean O'Hanlon (knee), Mat Doumbe (hamstring), Darren Powell (knee) and David McCracken (calf) on the sidelines so emergency loan signing James Tunnicliffe could go straight into the starting line-up after arriving from Brighton.

Reserve goalkeeper Stuart Searle is out with a back injury to leave Ince with no cover for Willy Gueret, while top scorer Jermaine Easter misses the second match of a two-game suspension and fellow striker Sam Baldock has a knee injury.

Some rare good news for Ince is that on-loan Tottenham winger Andros Townsend will play after being cup-tied in midweek as the patched-up Dons looks for a win to keep their play-off hopes alive.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Darryl Duffy
Tottenham Hotspur
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Jermaine Easter
David McCracken
Stoke City
Lenny Pidgeley
League One
Andros Townsend
Joe Anyinsah
Ben Marshall
James Tunnicliffe
Carlisle United
Adam Collin
Dan Woodards
Willy Gueret
Leeds United
Stuart Searle
Brighton & Hove Albion
Sean O'Hanlon
Darren Powell
Sam Baldock

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again