World Cup Russia 2018


Diao grabs late winner

Published Add your comment

Football News

Stoke substitute Salif Diao snatched a last-gasp 2-1 triumph for the 10-man Potters as Portsmouth were plunged deeper into the relegation mire.

Frederic Piquionne gave the home side the advantage after 35 minutes, but Robert Huth's header levelled matters five minutes after the break.

Andy Wilkinson was sent off for the visitors after 73 minutes, but Diao netted at the death to maintain his side's unbeaten record in all competitions this year.

Tony Pulis' team enjoyed the best of the opening exchanges as Pompey failed to fashion any early chances. Glenn Whelan fired over from 25 yards before Mamady Sidibe put a great chance wide after 17 minutes.

Pompey fans had little to cheer early on, but they thought Piquionne had broken the deadlock after 20 minutes. The striker was adjudged to be offside, a decision that replays showed was incorrect, as he raced on to Quincy Owusu-Abeyie's through ball and slotted home.

Avram Grant's side did take the lead after 35 minutes when Owusu-Abeyie exchanged passes with Jamie O'Hara and unleashed a powerful low shot that Thomas Sorensen failed to hold, allowing Piquionne to clip home the rebound.

Stoke levelled five minutes after the break when Huth powerfully headed home from Whelan's outswinging corner.

But the Potters were reduced to 10 men after 73 minutes as Wilkinson picked up a second yellow card for a foul on Aruna Dindane.

Fuller was lucky not to join him shortly afterwards, when a high challenge on O'Hara went unpunished by the officials.

And the striker made the most of his reprieve, when he skinned Marc Wilson in the box in the first minute of stoppage-time, before squaring for substitute Diao to win the game.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Mamady Sidibe
Stoke City
Frederic Piquionne
Salif Diao
Robert Huth
Premier League
Marc Wilson
Andy Wilkinson
Quincy Owusu-Abeyie
Glenn Whelan
Aruna Dindane
Jamie O'Hara
Thomas Sorensen

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again