Baggies go second

Published Add your comment

Football News

West Brom moved back into second place in the Coca-Cola Championship as Robert Koren's stunning strike saw off relegation-threatened Sheffield Wednesday 1-0 at The Hawthorns.

The Baggies, who moved above Nottingham Forest on goal difference, missed chances through Chris Brunt, James Morrison, Graham Dorrans, Youssouf Mulumbu and Luke Moore in the first half.

And the pattern continued as Moore's effort was blocked by Darren Purse and keeper Lee Grant kept out Jonas Olsson, Ishmael Miller, Morrison and Dorrans before Koren finally found a way through from long range.

Fourth-placed Swansea found the perfect response to Saturday's last-gasp defeat at Forest, their first reverse in 13 games, as they beat Watford 1-0 at Vicarage Road.

Ipswich's impressive home record continued as on-loan Sunderland striker Daryl Murphy scored twice - his first goals in five games - to earn them a 2-0 win over Cardiff.

In the division's other games, Peterborough claimed a 1-0 victory over Sheffield United, Doncaster drew 1-1 with Preston at Deepdale, QPR managed a 2-0 victory over second-from-bottom Plymouth and Bristol City earned a 1-0 win at Crystal Palace.

In League One, Jermaine Beckford scored twice as Leeds eased to a 4-1 win at Tranmere to put pressure on leaders Norwich. Robert Snodgrass' opener was added to by Beckford's penalty before John Welsh pulled a goal back for Rovers, but Luciano Becchio made it 3-1 by the break and Beckford rounded off the win.

Millwall boosted their play-off push with a 3-1 win at Carlisle, MK Dons beat Swindon 2-1, Oldham overcame Leyton Orient 2-0.

In League Two, Notts County beat League Two promotion rivals Chesterfield 1-0, Bury were held to a 1-1 draw by basement club Darlington, Crewe beat Grimsby 4-2, Robert Taylor grabbed Port Vale's winner in a 2-1 triumph over Bradford and substitute Mathew Tipton's penalty earned Macclesfield a 1-1 draw at Accrington.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Daryl Murphy
Peterborough United
Norwich City
Crewe Alexandra
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Luke Moore
Milton Keynes Dons
West Bromwich Albion
Sheffield Wednesday
James Morrison
Mathew Tipton
John Welsh
Lee Grant
Bristol City
Chris Brunt
Graham Dorrans
League One
Youssouf Mulumbu
Robert Taylor
Cardiff City
Swindon Town
Port Vale
Bradford City
Preston North End
Robert Koren
Nottingham Forest
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Darren Purse
Queens Park Rangers
Jonas Olsson
League Two
Jermaine Beckford
Sheffield United
Crystal Palace
Robert Snodgrass
Ishmael Miller
Leeds United
Plymouth Argyle
Luciano Becchio
Tranmere Rovers
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again