Tom Brady becomes oldest quarterback to finish season as NFL's passing yards leader

In their win yesterday against the New York Jets, Tom Brady did more than just guide his team to the number one seed in the AFC, as he managed to achieve another NFL record on the day as well.

Brady helped the Patriots secure a 26-6 victory over the Jets on Sunday at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, as he completed 18 of his 37 passing attempts for 190 yards and two touchdowns.

The win on the day as well meant that New England kept hold of the number one seed in the AFC, keeping it away from the Pittsburgh Steelers, meaning they’ll have home-field advantage so long as they are in the playoffs.

Brady’s 190 passing yards in the game as well were enough to give the Patriots quarterback the NFL’s passing yards leader title for only the third time in his 18 seasons in the league. He finished with 4,577 yards in total, 62 yards ahead of second place Philip Rivers of the Los Angeles Chargers.

The significant thing about this achievement is that Brady is the oldest player ever to have won the NFL’s passing yards leader title in the history of the league at the age of 40, according to Pro Football Reference. Previously, the oldest player to earn the title was 2016’s Drew Brees, and 2013’s Peyton Manning, who both won the title when they were 37 years old.

Brady was able to achieve this fantastic accomplishment this season thanks to the plays of tight end Rob Gronkowski, wide receiver Brandin Cooks, and running back Dion Lewis, who became the first trio in Patriots history to reach 1,000 yards from scrimmage in the same season.

The Patriots could very well be on their way towards another Super Bowl appearance if these three, as well as their quarterback, keep playing as well as they have been doing all season long to earn the top spot in the conference.

New England now has a bye week thanks to finishing in the number one seed in the AFC, and they will now wait to see who they will be playing in the divisional round of the playoffs. It will either be the Buffalo Bills, Tennessee Titans, or the Kansas City Chiefs, depending on the results of the wild card games.

News Now - Sport News