Plymouth Argyle Vs Middlesbrough, Mon 5 Apr 2010

Published Add your comment

Football News

Plymouth head coach Paul Mariner may choose to keep faith with a winning line-up when his side play host to Middlesbrough.

Argyle came from behind to boost their survival hopes with a 2-1 victory at Doncaster on Saturday and Mariner is unlikely to make many changes.

Skipper Carl Fletcher will hope to return after missing the clash at the Keepmoat Stadium with a knee injury.

Craig Noone remains doubtful with a knee problem of his own, but Chris Barker returned to the bench at the weekend following a spell on the sidelines with a hamstring injury.

Kari Arnason (hip), Krisztian Timar and Luke Summerfield (both hamstring) look set to remain sidelined with their respective injuries.

Argyle will also be without David McNamee, who is also nursing a hamstring problem, and Richard Eckersley (ankle).

Middlesbrough boss Gordon Strachan could be without a long list of players.

Andrew Taylor was forced off after 42 minutes of Saturday's 1-1 draw against Crystal Palace.

Strachan admitted that Gary O'Neil and Rhys Williams were also struggling and he may be forced into calling up players from the youth team.

Emanuel Pogatetz's (knee) availability remains unclear, but Jeremie Aliadiere (broken toe), Willo Flood (knee), Seb Hines (ankle and medial ligament), Tony McMahon (stress fracture of the foot) and Matthew Bates (cruciate ligament) are all out.

But there was at least some positive news for Strachan as Scott McDonald made a goalscoring return to action at the weekend following his recovery from a hamstring injury.

Jay O'Shea came off the bench to make his debut against the Eagles and will be pushing for a starting berth.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Doncaster Rovers
Krisztian Timar
Kari Arnason
Carl Fletcher
Andrew Taylor
Gary O'Neil
David McNamee
Luke Summerfield
Tony McMahon
Scott McDonald
Gordon Strachan
Krisztian Timar
Jeremie Aliadiere
Emanuel Pogatetz
Seb Hines
Willo Flood
Richard Eckersley
Matthew Bates
Chris Barker
Crystal Palace
Craig Noone
Rhys Williams
Matthew Bates
Plymouth Argyle
Andrew Taylor

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again