Darlo down despite win

Published Add your comment

Football News

Darlington dropped out of the Football League despite claiming a 1-0 win over Coca-Cola League Two title-chasing Rochdale at Spotland.

Nathan Mulligan's 35th-minute goal secured the Quakers' seventh win of the season, but their fate was sealed by Torquay's 2-0 win at Aldershot and Cheltenham's 0-0 draw at Shrewsbury.

Notts County took advantage of Dale's defeat to climb to the top of the table by one point with a 3-1 victory over Lincoln.

Lee Hughes netted in the opening 60 seconds and Graeme Lee (65) and Delroy Facey (87) were on target after Steven Lennon had equalised for the Imps. Lincoln's Moses Swaibu was sent off after only 16 minutes of the loss at Meadow Lane.

Bournemouth are five points behind Rochdale and six points clear of Rotherham after a 2-1 defeat of Hereford. Brett Pitman scored twice, including a first-half penalty, while Marc Pugh scored a stoppage-time consolation for the Bulls.

Adam Le Fondre scored a 65th-minute penalty after Craig Hinton's professional foul and subsequent red card as Rotherham beat Northampton 1-0 to enhance their play-off prospects. The Cobblers had missed a first-half penalty through Ryan Gilligan, while two other players were sent off - the visitors' Luke Guttridge and Danny Harrison for the Millers.

Bury are one place further back in fifth after a 3-0 win over Crewe, with goals from Andy Morrell, Ryan Lowe and Andy Bishop, while Chesterfield stay sixth after drawing 2-2 at Grimsby.

Grimsby stay in the drop zone, seven points behind Barnet, who lost 4-1 at Dagenham as Danny Green scored twice. Daniel Leach was sent off for the Bees.

Aldershot are seventh after losing 2-0 at home to Torquay, whose goals came through Elliot Benyon and Scott Rendell, while Morecambe fell to eighth after Bradford scored twice in the final 21 minutes through Zesh Rehman and Adam Bolder to secure a 2-0 win.

Accrington Stanley lost 2-1 at home to Port Vale and Macclesfield drew 1-1 with Burton.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Crewe Alexandra
Rotherham United
Shrewsbury Town
Andy Bishop
Graeme Lee
Northampton Town
Daniel Leach
Elliot Benyon
Adam Bolder
Danny Harrison
Delroy Facey
Craig Hinton
Ryan Gilligan
Hereford United
Ryan Lowe
Port Vale
Cheltenham Town
Bradford City
Marc Pugh
Lee Hughes
Adam Le Fondre
League Two
Luke Guttridge
Brett Pitman
Accrington Stanley
Notts County
Andy Morrell
Moses Swaibu
Scott Rendell

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again