Matt Renshaw induced a five-run penalty for his state side, Queensland, after jokingly fielding the ball with wicket-keeping gloves after acting glove-man Josh Inglis had taken them off when fielding a ball at square-leg.
As the throw came in, Renshaw decided to place one of Inglis' gloves on before collecting the throw.
But to his amazement, Renshaw was reprimanded by the on-field umpires and Queensland were docked five runs as a result.
Rule 27.1 of the Laws of Cricket dictates that "a wicket-keeper is the only fielder permitted to wear gloves", and so the umpires were justified in their decision to penalise Queensland with five penalty runs.
Luckily for both Renshaw and his team, Queensland were already winning the game at a canter, and in the end, the five-run deficit led to a 211 run victory over Western Australia, instead of 215.
Though born in Middlesbrough, Renshaw has lived in Australia since the age of 10 and has already played 10 Tests wearing the 'baggy green'.
And when asked about the incident, the young opener saw the funny side of events.
"The glove dropped right next to me so I thought it'd be quite funny to put the glove on and try and take a catch with the glove on," Renshaw told cricket.com.au at the close of play.
"I didn't really think of the rule at the time, I just thought it'd be quite funny. But the umpires came together and said it was five penalty runs."
"I know that you're not supposed to do it, but I thought it was just one of those frowned upon things.
"Thankfully it wasn't a close match because if it was, (coach) Wade Seccombe might not have let me back in the rooms.''
After suffering a loss of form at the start of the Shield season, Renshaw lost his place in the Australian squad for the Ashes. But a return to his best in recent weeks has led to calls for his return in place of struggling Aussie opener Cameron Bancroft.
But Renshaw had feared his playful actions may have cost more than five runs.
"We actually weren't sure if that was a reportable offence," he added.
"It's not. It's similar to the fake fielding that we had at the start of the year.
"I'm going to learn a lot more rules in my cricket career, probably.
"I learnt one last week that you can't warm up bowling parallel to the wicket. I found that one quite interesting."
This incident follows another peculiar occurrence which also happened in a game involving Queensland.
Last October, Queensland's Marnus Labuschagne became the first player to fall foul of the new regulations that penalise 'fake fielding'.
In a JLT One-Day Cup game, Labuschagne dived to field a ball and although he failed to field the ball, he leapt to his feet and feigned to throw in an effort to deceive the batsmen into thinking that there wasn't a run on offer.
The rule against "intentionally deceiving or distracting a batsman" had only been introduced in the weeks prior and the Bulls were again given a run five-run penalty.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms