Didier Drogba is "definitely not out" of the World Cup at this stage and is awaiting the verdict of the Ivory Coast medical team on his injured arm, a national federation spokesman has confirmed.
Drogba was forced out of the Ivorians' World Cup warm-up game against Japan in Sion today in the 17th minute and reports suggested the Chelsea striker could have fractured his right elbow - sparking fears he would miss the finals. However, the federation insist he has not yet been ruled out.
"He's not at all out of the World Cup," a spokesman told Press Association Sport. "He can still play."
The Ivory Coast are awaiting further medical tests but claim Drogba could even feature when they kick off their World Cup campaign against Portugal on June 15.
The spokesman continued: "We don't know if he will be able to play the first game - that depends on the verdict of the medical team.
"But he's definitely not out."
However, the federation were more cautious on their official website with the brief line: "Didier Drogba is not, for the moment, out of the World Cup."
Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.
Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms