Tennis

Donaldson - Gabas.

Tennis player infuriated with umpire at Monte-Carlo Masters and screams in his face

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Jared Donaldson faced off against Albert Ramos-Vinolas in the first round of the Monte-Carlo Masters, where the water boiled over for the American.

Not between the two players, however, but between Donaldson and the chair umpire.

The 21-year-old had lost the first set 6-3 and was at the time of the incident 3-2 down to the Spaniard in the second set.

It unfolded when umpire Arnaut Gabas called Ramos-Vinolas’ first serve in, and rewarded him the point.

This was not the case according to Donaldson, who was sure it was out.

Staring elimination in the face if he was to lose the set, Donaldson’s frustration escalated to screaming rage.

At first, the American was collected, as he thought he had indisputable proof, pointing to a mark on the court where he thought the ball had hit.

The umpire jogged over to assess the claim, but quickly ruled against it saying the mark was from a previous point.

ATP Masters Series: Monte Carlo Rolex Masters - Day Two

Donaldson then demanded the umpire to find the actual mark of the ball, something the umpire couldn’t, but said: “I cannot see the mark there, but it was for sure on the line.”

The American boils over at that stage and screams his case in the umpire’s face, even forcing Gabas to take a step back, to which the audience reacts with yells and whistles.

Donaldson demanded to see the supervisor, and the line judge entered the debate as well. The incident took five minutes, and concluded with the umpire awarding Donaldson a code violation for his reaction and the point to Ramos-Vinolas.

Despite the case being put to rest, Donaldson continued to act out his frustration towards the umpire.

Gabas complained that the American was being “aggressive”, to which Donaldson responded by sarcastically offering the umpire a handshake, saying: "Oh I’m sorry, did I hurt your feelings? I’m sorry.”

In the end, Hawkeye, the computer system that tracks and displays if a ball is in or out on the court, but wasn’t used in this tournament, showed that Donaldson was right in his claim that the ball was over the line.

Ramos-Vinolas eventually won the match 6-3, 6-3.

Topics:
Tennis

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again