Owls make winning start

Published Add your comment

Football News

Sheffield Wednesday started their npower League One campaign with a 2-0 victory over Dagenham & Redbridge.

An own goal from defender Scott Doe gave Wednesday a 14th minute lead after he deflected Gilles Coke's shot into the Daggers' net. Two minutes later Coke's fellow debutant Clinton Morrison pounced from close range to double the lead.

Luke Summerfield bagged a second-half winner to get Peter Reid`s Plymouth reign off to a victorious start with a 1-0 victory at Southampton. The midfielder struck in the 47th minute with a clinical right-foot finish from close range after Rory Fallon and Steve MacLean combined to tee him up.

Peterborough breezed to a 3-0 victory over Bristol Rovers to get their bid for an instant return to the Championship off to the perfect start. George Boyd broke the deadlock in the 57th minute with a low shot past Rovers keeper Mikkel Andersen. Aaron Mclean bagged number two and skipper Grant McCann tucked away a classy free-kick.

Akpo Sodje's goal ensured 10-man Charlton launched the new season with 1-0 victory against Bournemouth at The Valley.

The Addicks surged ahead in the 22nd minute when Kyel Reid's low cross was fired past Cherries keeper Shwan Jalal by Sodje from six yards, but Jose Semedo blotted his copybook with a red card for raising his studs on Michael Symes.

Anthony Pilkington struck twice as Huddersfield cruised to a 3-0 victory at Notts County.

Pilkington rifled a shot into the top corner from an acute angle before Jordan Rhodes doubled Town's advantage when he tucked away Joe Garner's pass. Pilkington's sweetly-struck shot from the edge of the area completed the scoring late on.

Gary Madine and Ian Harte ensured a miserable start to the season for weary Brentford as Carlisle coasted to a 2-0 victory.

The west Londoners made the 600-mile round trip for the second successive opening day but could not repeat last term's victory. Madine fired the hosts ahead from Sean McDaid's cross before Harte crashed in a penalty.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Rory Fallon
Bristol Rovers
Sheffield Wednesday
Kyel Reid
Jordan Rhodes
Sean McDaid
Dagenham & Redbridge
Akpo Sodje
League One
Gary Madine
Huddersfield Town
Shwan Jalal
Luke Summerfield
Anthony Pilkington
Ian Harte
Joe Garner
Aaron Mclean
Kyel Reid
George Boyd
Carlisle United
Clinton Morrison
Mikkel Andersen
Grant McCann
Michael Symes
Plymouth Argyle
Scott Doe
Charlton Athletic
Notts County
Peter Reid

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again