Shrews stun Addicks

Published Add your comment

Football News

League Two Shrewsbury produced an astonishing fightback from 3-0 down to beat League One Charlton 4-3 in the first round of the Carling Cup at Greenhous Meadow.

The Addicks had appeared to be cruising as Pawel Abbott's first goals for the club and a strike from Lee Martin put them in control.

But Jake Robinson and a Yado Mambo own goal put the Shrews back in it by half-time, and Daniel O'Donnell and Matt Harrold completed the turnaround.

MK Dons were another side to come from behind as Jabo Ibehre's double saw them beat Dagenham and Redbridge 2-1. Damien McCrory had given the visitors a 13th-minute lead.

Jordan Rhodes grabbed his second goal of the season in the 89th minute as Huddersfield secured a 1-0 win at Carlisle.

Doubles from Simon Heslop and James Constable helped Oxford on the way to a 6-1 hammering of Bristol Rovers at the Kassam Stadium. Jack Midson and Matthew Green grabbed their other goals.

Southampton beat League One rivals Bournemouth 2-0 at St Mary's thanks to a strike from Adam Lallana and Alex Chamberlain's first senior goal. Giles Coke got the only goal as Sheffield Wednesday beat Bury while Ian Goodison's tap-in was enough for Tranmere to win 1-0 at Walsall.

Northampton were 2-0 winners over 10-man Brighton as early goals from teenager Michael Jacobs and Billy McKay sealed the win before Matthew Sparrow saw red in the 36th minute.

League One Colchester were too strong for League Two Hereford as they recorded a 3-0 win at Edgar Street thanks to goals from David Mooney (2) and Ian Henderson. Robbie Simpson and Craig Woodman helped Brentford to a 2-1 win over Cheltenham, Shaun Jeffers getting the goal back for the visitors.

Elsewhere, Peterborough cruised to a 4-1 win over Rotherham, Leyton Orient came from a goal down to beat fellow League One side Swindon 2-1 and John Spicer's strike saw Notts County claim a 1-0 victory at Plymouth.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Colchester United
James Constable
Shrewsbury Town
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield Wednesday
Jack Midson
Shaun Jeffers
Jordan Rhodes
Simon Heslop
Matthew Sparrow
John Spicer
Matthew Green
David Mooney
Ian Goodison
Jabo Ibehre
Matt Harrold
League One
Ian Henderson
League Cup
Huddersfield Town
Pawel Abbott
Hereford United
Swindon Town
Cheltenham Town
Adam Lallana
Robbie Simpson
Damien McCrory
Giles Coke
Carlisle United
Michael Jacobs
Jake Robinson
League Two
Lee Martin
Billy Mckay
Craig Woodman
Daniel O'Donnell
Plymouth Argyle
Tranmere Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Brighton & Hove Albion

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again