Formula 1


How the leaderboard looked at the end of the last French Grand Prix

Published Add your comment

Football News

Formula One returns to France this weekend after a 10-year absence to add an extra twist to an already intriguing start to the 2018 season.

Seven races have seen three different winners, with Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel renewing their title battle from last season as they both bid to win a fifth world championship.

The F1 race calendar has been reshuffled over the last few years, with Russia and Mexico being added recently, and the sport's new owners Liberty Media have tried to make their mark by taking the F1 circus to France for the first time since 2008.

With the action getting underway on Friday and race day on Sunday, it only seems logical to look back at the last time the race was held at the Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours - although it won't be held there this time around.

Though, there are four survivors from the race in this year's line-up, it might be a bit harder remembering the winner.

Though they're the top two drivers around at the moment, Hamilton and Vettel had to settle for 10th and 12th respectively.

Fernando Alonso, who this week won at Le Mans, is arguably the most-respected driver on the grid still, but he only finished eighth.

The fourth driver is Kimi Raikkonen, another stalwart of F1 over recent years. In his prime for Ferrari, he finished runner-up for the Scuderia.

Instead, it was his teammate, Felipe Massa, who won the race, a comfortable 17 seconds ahead of the Finn.

(From L) Ferrari's Finnish driver Kimi R

Massa was at the time going head-to-head with Lewis Hamilton for the world title, and the season would ultimately end in despair for the Brazilian, as the Brit passed Timo Glock on the last corner of the Brazilian Grand Prix to win his first championship.

The following season, Massa suffered a life-threatening head injury at the Hungarian Grand Prix and has never mounted a serious title challenge since, despite being a strong driver for both Ferrari and Williams before retiring last season.

Though Hamilton won the championship in 2008, it would be long-time rival Vettel who would go on to dominate the sport in the following years, winning four straight titles between 2010 and 2013.

Here's the standings from the French Grand Prix a decade ago.


Other notable drivers include Nico Rosberg, who finished 16th for Williams-Toyota, and Robert Kubica, who is now a test and reserve driver for Williams.

Though Hamilton and Vettel were way down the pecking order in the 2008 race, it's hard to see them ending in similar positions on Sunday, barring technical difficulties or a crash. 

Nico Rosberg
Felipe Massa
Jenson Button
Sebastian Vettel
Kimi Raikkonen
Fernando Alonso
Lewis Hamilton
Red Bull
Formula 1

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again