Golf

.

Phil Mickelson gives himself a two-shot penalty during Greenbrier Classic

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Phil Mickleson had a bad Geenbrier Classic and earned himself a two-shot penalty thanks to his actions of stomping down on a piece of grass to improve his line of play.

During the final round of the Greenbrier Classic, Mikcleson could be seen trampling down on the glass before suddenly realising that what he had done might well be a violation of the rules.

Looking a bit flustered, Mickleson could be heard saying: "Is what I just did legal? I would think so. I'll ask somebody."

Mickelson went off to talk to a course official, and following the conversation he realised that what he had done had in fact been illegal.

He reacted calmly and realised it was his mistake, and thus he then penalised himself two strokes for the misdemeanor. 

The incident occurred on the par-four seventh hole, Mickelson doubled-bogeyed following the trampling.

His reaction was much calmer than that at the US Open.

It took him four days to apologise for moving the ball on purpose at the event, and he sent a text message to various US journalists whom he had breezed past at Shinnecock Hill.

The message went as follows: "I know this should have come sooner, but it's taken me a few days to calm down.

'My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend. I'm embarrassed and disappointed by my actions. It was clearly not my finest moment and I'm sorry."

Following the trampling, Mickelson cooly and calmly spoke to an official who said it was unfortunately probably a violation which Mickelson seemed to accept very quickly and calmly before moving on.

Mickelson had clearly learnt from the mistakes of how he handled his incident at the US Open and keen to avoid further criticism and confrontation, so it has to be admired at the good grace in which he handled this latest incident.

Topics:
PGA Championships
Phil Mickleson
PGA Tour
Golf

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again