Mackie earns QPR draw

Published Add your comment

Football News

QPR maintained their unbeaten start to the npower Championship season with a late fightback at Derby.

Kris Commons finished off a fine move to fire the Rams ahead in the 40th minute, the first goal Warnock's men had conceded this season, and that became two when James Bailey curled home in the 59th minute after a good jinking run from Tomasz Cywka.

But Patrick Agyemang brought Rangers back into the game in injury time before Jamie Mackie snatched a 95th-minute leveller.

Burnley suffered their first defeat of the season, going down 1-0 at Swansea following a neat finish from Scott Sinclair in the eighth minute. The former Chelsea trainee finished off a fine cross from Alan Tate to put the Swans ahead as Burnley never managed to conjure a response.

Swansea then lost Darren Pratley to a second yellow card just before the hour mark for a foul on Tyrone Mears, who swiftly followed after a wild lunge at Nathan Dyer two minutes later.

Second-placed Cardiff were given a helping hand by Portsmouth as they eased to a 2-0 win at Fratton Park, while Middlesbrough, the pre-season favourites for promotion, saw their challenge dealt another blow after Barnsley grabbed a 2-0 win at Oakwell.

Billy Davies' Nottingham Forest are still without a win in five matches so far this season after a 1-1 draw with Norwich.

A 35th-minute penalty from striker Dexter Blackstock put Forest ahead before the Canaries levelled through Andrew Crofts shortly before the break. Both sides threatened in an exciting second half, but neither could find a way through as defences held firm.

Meanwhile, Leeds won 1-0 at Watford, Hull's miserable away record continued with a 3-1 defeat at Doncaster and Jason Scotland ensured a 2-0 win for Ipswich.

Scunthorpe claimed a 3-0 victory over Crystal Palace, Sheffield United managed a 1-0 home win over Preston and Millwall beat Coventry 3-1.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Tyrone Mears
Alan Tate
Norwich City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Tomasz Cywka
Darren Pratley
Kris Commons
Scunthorpe United
Cardiff City
James Bailey
Preston North End
Derby County
Dexter Blackstock
Nottingham Forest
Andrew Crofts
Jamie Mackie
Queens Park Rangers
Sheffield United
Patrick Agyemang
Crystal Palace
Scott Sinclair
Nathan Dyer
Hull City
Leeds United
Coventry City
Jason Scotland
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again