First defeat for Shrewsbury

Published Add your comment

Football News

Shrewsbury suffered their first defeat of the npower League Two season as Chris Palmer's double earned Gillingham the points at the Priestfield Stadium.

The midfielder opened the scoring from Jack Payne's 12th-minute cross and added a penalty (59) after Craig Disley fouled Danny Spiller. Adebayo Akinfenwa had seen an earlier spot-kick saved by Chris Neal.

That saw Torquay take over the leadership of the division despite being held to a 0-0 draw by Accrington at Plainmoor. Chris Zebroski had the hosts' best chance, but it could have been even worse for them as keeper Scott Bevan was forced into sharp saves to deny Jimmy Ryan and Andrew Procter.

Port Vale lie third after Gary Roberts' 10th-minute goal secured a 1-0 win over Aldershot, leap-frogging Chesterfield, who needed an 83rd-minute equaliser from substitute Scott Boden to salvage a 1-1 draw after Scott Brown (26) put bottom club Morecambe in front.

Rotherham were pegged back from 3-0 up as Shaun Harrad's hat-trick earned Burton a sensational 3-3 draw. Kevin Ellison, Ryan Cresswell and Adam Le Fondre had put the Millers in command in the first half.

James Constable and Tom Craddock scored the goals which condemned Hereford to a fourth defeat in their first six games, 2-0 at home to Oxford. That saw the Bulls slip to 23rd after Bradford drew 1-1 at Stockport, Dave Syers' opener cancelled out by County's George Donnelly.

Wesley Thomas earned Cheltenham a 1-0 win over Stevenage, who had Lawrie Wilson sent off in the last minute, while Crewe strolled past Bury 3-0 with goals from Shaun Miller, David Artell and Luke Murphy. Steven Schumacher was sent off at 2-0, while Clayton Donaldson missed a penalty for the Railwaymen.

Ben Hutchinson's penalty earned Lincoln a 1-0 win over Barnet, Andy Holt scored Northampton's winner as they came from behind to beat Southend 2-1 and Macclesfield won 2-1 at Wycombe thanks to early goals from Colin Daniel and Tyrone Barnett.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

James Constable
Crewe Alexandra
Rotherham United
Gary Roberts
Colin Daniel
Shrewsbury Town
Lawrie Wilson
Wesley Thomas
Luke Murphy
Andrew Procter
Chris Zebroski
Shaun Miller
Scott Boden
Hereford United
Port Vale
Southend United
Cheltenham Town
Clayton Donaldson
Bradford City
Chris Palmer
Ben Hutchinson
David Artell
Tom Craddock
Jimmy Ryan
Ryan Cresswell
Scott Bevan
Adam Le Fondre
Gary Roberts
League Two
Aldershot Town
Jack Payne
Scott Brown
Scott Brown
Steven Schumacher
Torquay United
Craig Disley
Colin Daniel
Adebayo Akinfenwa
Kevin Ellison
Chris Neal
Shaun Harrad

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again