Helguson keeps QPR six clear

Published Add your comment

Football News

QPR striker Heidar Helguson snatched a 90th-minute winner at Crystal Palace to maintain the npower Championship leaders' six-point cushion at the top.

The Iceland international bundled home Tommy Smith's cross just two minutes after substitute Kieron Cadogan had equalised Adel Taarabt's opener, which came just after half-time.

That was enough to maintain the distance to second-placed Cardiff, who beat Barnsley 2-1 at Oakwell.

Craig Bellamy struck on his return from injury only for Jason Shackell to equalise.

Barnsley goalkeeper Luke Steele saved Peter Whittingham's penalty but Seyi Olofinjana hit the visitors' winner before team-mate Darcy Blake was sent off in the 82nd minute for a second bookable offence.

Third-placed Norwich ran out 3-0 winners at Bristol City with two goals from Simeon Jackson and a penalty from Wes Hoolahan, while Watford made it wins for all the top four as Marvin Sordell's strike was enough to beat Sheffield United at Bramall Lane.

Managerless Leicester, who were watched by former England and Manchester City coach Sven-Goran Eriksson after the Foxes sacked Paulo Sousa on Friday, lifted themselves off the bottom of the table with a 3-1 home win over Scunthorpe. Martyn Waghorn, Lloyd Dyer and Franck Moussa scored for the hosts, with Michael O'Connor having made it 2-1 on the hour.

Ipswich moved up into fifth after a 2-1 win over 10-man Leeds, for whom Robert Snodgrass' 77th-minute equaliser to Jason Scotland's opener was quickly surpassed by Tommy Smith's winner. Defender Alex Bruce was sent off for a second yellow card just moments after his side had drawn level.

10-man Burnley drew 1-1 at Millwall, Middlesbrough drew 2-2 with Portsmouth, Preston's home game to Reading finished 1-1 and Nottingham Forest were held to a 1-1 draw at Doncaster.

Hull v Coventry and Swansea v Derby both finished goalless.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Kieron Cadogan
Leicester City
Norwich City
Doncaster Rovers
Ipswich Town
Jason Shackell
Marvin Sordell
Bristol City
Peter Whittingham
Heidar Helguson
Manchester City
Scunthorpe United
Luke Steele
Lloyd Dyer
Craig Bellamy
Cardiff City
Preston North End
Darcy Blake
Wes Hoolahan
Derby County
Tommy Smith
Nottingham Forest
Michael O'Connor
Queens Park Rangers
Franck Moussa
Martyn Waghorn
Sheffield United
Tommy Smith
Crystal Palace
Robert Snodgrass
Simeon Jackson
Hull City
Leeds United
Coventry City
Jason Scotland
Adel Taarabt
Swansea City

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again