Five-time world champion Ronnie O'Sullivan has offered to replay his English Open quarter-final match-up against Chinese teenager Luo Honghao, after a foul that was missed by the referee.
The defending champion was trailing 3-2 when in the sixth frame, O'Sullivan appeared to clip a stray red ball with his rest, as he attempted to pull away from the white. Watch the incident below.
With the infringement going unnoticed, O'Sullivan was able to mount his comeback and reach the semi-finals, but the Englishman remains honest over his mistake.
"Oh, s***! I didn’t even see that in a million years. I’m devastated," he told Eurosport in his post-match interview, via The Sun.
After being brandished a 'cheat' on social media, the 42-year-old was quick to defend himself.
"When you use the rest you don’t feel it. You would with a cue. I’m looking where the white is going. I’m not looking at the rest," he added.
“I’d happily play another best-of-nine game. If that keeps everyone happy, I’d do it. I’m not a mercenary.
"I enjoy competing. But I want to win in the right manner."
Watch the incident
O'Sullivan's opponent, Honghao, only turned professional at the turn of the year and is yet to make a response to the humble gesture.
The Rocket was full of praise for his counterpart.
“This kid will be mental in 2-3 years," O'Sullivan continued. "He must have a serious brain up there because he’s almost a master on the piano.
"I told him at the end he is special, a great talent and will be a world champion one day.”News Now - Sport News