Latics defeat nine-man Plymouth

Published Add your comment

Football News

Nine-man Plymouth looked set to hold on for an npower League One draw at Oldham before two injury-time goals from Jean Yves Mvoto and Dean Kelly gave the Latics a 4-2 victory.

Dale Stephens and Oumare Tounkara had been on target for Oldham while Craig Noone and Bradley Wright-Phillips scored for Plymouth who had seen their manpower reduced after red cards for Bondz N'Gala and Kari Arnason.

Mark Arber was the fall guy at Dagenham as he put the ball into his own net in stoppage time to give Hartlepool a 1-1 draw. Peter Hartley had put a clearance into his own net to put Dagenham ahead just after the break but Arber deflected Andy Monkhouse's shot past his own goalkeeper to give Hartlepool a valuable point.

Carlisle striker Gary Madine missed a stoppage-time penalty to leave the north-west outfit having to settle for a 1-1 draw at Bristol Rovers. Carlisle's Mike Grella cancelled out Chris Lines' opener before Madine missed the opportunity to seal the win when he saw his spot-kick saved by Mikkel Andersen.

Chris O'Grady fired Rochdale ahead at Leyton Orient but the Lancashire side came away from Brisbane Road with nothing, thanks to a second-half comeback from the hosts, who won courtesy of goals from Dean Cox and Ben Chorley.

Both sides ended up with 10 men at Prenton Park as Tranmere beat MK Dons 4-2 to move out of the relegation zone.

Peter Leven put MK Dons on level terms after Dale Jennings' opener before Ian Thomas-Moore put Tranmere ahead. Thomas-Moore and Jennings added another one each for the home side to move into a 4-1 lead after Gary MacKenzie and Zoumana Bakayogo were dismissed.

Sam Baldock grabbed a second for the away side with five minutes left but Tranmere were safe.

Yeovil dropped into the relegation zone despite earning a 3-3 draw with Swindon.

Gavin Williams and Dean Bowditch (twice) were on target for the hosts while Charlie Austin, Jon-Paul McGovern and Sean Morrison scored for Swindon.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Yeovil Town
Ian Thomas-Moore
Ipswich Town
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Dean Bowditch
Kari Arnason
Sean Morrison
Charlie Austin
Zoumana Bakayogo
Jon-Paul McGovern
Ben Chorley
League One
Gary Madine
Mark Arber
Mike Grella
Swindon Town
Dean Cox
Peter Leven
Andy Monkhouse
Chris O'Grady
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
Chris Lines
Peter Hartley
Mikkel Andersen
Wigan Athletic
Dean Bowditch
Craig Noone
Gavin Williams
Plymouth Argyle
Tranmere Rovers
Leyton Orient
Bradley Wright-Phillips
Dale Stephens
Sam Baldock

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again