Rugby Union

Clive Woodward had his say on Farrell's controversial tackle .

Clive Woodward was spot on about Owen Farrell's tackle vs South Africa

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

In the grand scheme of things, it matters little that England had to fight so hard for a tense 12-11 victory over South Africa.

It was essential that the Red Rose got back to winning ways, not least to take the pressure off Eddie Jones as the autumn internationals begin.

Admittedly, they had the Springboks wastefulness to thank in part for the result.

If the upcoming Tests are to be a dress rehearsal for the 2019 World Cup, Jones still ought to be concerned as currently, his side still do not look like realistic contenders.

Had their opponents been more ruthless in finishing the hosts off, things might have been different - but England were very nearly the architects of their own downfall late on.

Much has already been made of Owen Farrell's last-gasp 'tackle' on Andre Esterhuizen, which took place just short of England's 10m line.

South Africa were incensed that they were not awarded a potentially match-winning penalty, with calls in some quarters for the fly-half to be carded too.

Farrell's challenge has caused a huge stir 

The Saracens man dropped his shoulder and seemed to be looking the other way, though some angles showed he was trying to bring his right arm around Esterhuizen. Fortunately too, there was no contact above the neck.

The tackle has been heavily debated and former England coach Clive Woodward had his say on Sky Sports after the Test.

Woodward's take on the challenge 

"I think It was a tough call for the TMO and the referee but actually I think there would have been a bigger debate if they'd given it," he explained.

Eddie Jones is still under pressure despite the win

"He does go in and it is a hit but he's trying [to tackle him].

"That is a big, big moment and if they'd called it a penalty you would say 'ok I can see why' but you can also see his right arm is getting round there when you've got someone running at you so fast. But what a tackle."

Woodward gave a perfectly balanced opinion and England will hope that it is shared by citing commissioner Keith Brown.

The New Zealander has until 5pm on Sunday to decide if Farrell will be punished retrospectively. 

Do you think it was a fair tackle? Have your say in the comments. 

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE: https://www.givemesport.com/writeforgms

Topics:
Aviva Premiership
England Rugby
Rugby Union
Rugby World Cup
Owen Farrell
Saracens

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again