Port Vale held by Dartford

Published Add your comment

Football News

Conference South strugglers Dartford were denied the scalp of League Two Port Vale after John McCombe netted a late equaliser to secure a 1-1 draw in the first round of the FA Cup.

The Darts took the lead when skipper Elliot Bradbrook converted Ryan Hayes' curling free-kick from close range.

McCombe also denied the home side with more than one goalline clearance before nodding home a corner with six minutes remaining.

Chesterfield had few problems seeing off Ryman League Premier Division Harrow to reach the second round. Home goalkeeper Nick Jupp kept his side in it until Scott Boden broke the deadlock and Craig Davies then made it 2-0 in stoppage time.

There were few major suprises elsewhere, although League Two Accrington did beat League One Oldham 3-2.

Bournemouth beat Tranmere 5-3, Bury saw off Exeter 2-0, Carlisle thrashed Tipton Town 6-0, Chelmsford edged past Hendon 3-2, Colchester won a 4-3 thriller against Bradford and Darlington were 2-1 conquerors of Bristol Rovers.

Northampton won 3-0 at Forest Green, Crawley beat Guiseley 5-0, Droylsden won 2-0 at Havant and Waterlooville, Wycombe won 2-1 at Hayes and Yeading and Hereford hammered Hythe Town 5-1.

Lincoln edged Nuneaton 1-0, Torquay also won 1-0 at Mansfield, Notts County beat Gateshead 2-0, Swindon won 4-0 at Plymouth, Yeovil were 1-0 winners at Rushden and Diamonds, Southampton saw off Shrewsbury 2-0 and Swindon Supermarine beat Eastwood Town 2-1.

There were 1-1 draws between Brentford and Aldershot, Corby and Luton, Dagenham and Redbridge and Leyton Orient and Stockport and Peterborough.

AFC Wimbledon and Ebbsfleet United drew 0-0, as did Barnet and Charlton, Brighton and Woking, Cambridge and Huddersfield, Rotherham and York, and Stevenage and MK Dons.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Yeovil Town
Colchester United
Shrewsbury Town
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
League One
Scott Boden
Huddersfield Town
Hereford United
Swindon Town
Port Vale
Bradford City
Craig Davies
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
League Two
Aldershot Town
John McCombe
FA Cup
Torquay United
Plymouth Argyle
Tranmere Rovers
Charlton Athletic
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Brighton & Hove Albion

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again