Every winner of the 'Golden Player' award at UEFA Euro Under-19 Championships

  • Kobe Tong

There are no shortage of international competitions where young players can make a name for themselves.

The UEFA European Under-19 Championship is one such example and the tournament made plenty of headlines in England when the Three Lions claimed the win at the most recent instalment in 2017.

Overcoming Portugal 2-1 in a tense final, it was the latest success for English youth teams in recent years and also introduced the world to none other than Mason Mount.

The Chelsea loanee was handed the coveted ‘Golden Player Award’ for his performances at the competition and has gone on to receive plaudits ever since.

Now, he’s plying his trade with Derby County under Frank Lampard and will be striving to make the Chelsea first-team in the future.

‘The Golden Player’ award

However, the previous winners of the award should serve as a warning to Mount and a reminder that success in the youth ranks is no guarantee for future victories.

And while a number of recognisable names have taken home the accolade in the past, there’s also been some players who have dropped off the radar.

That considered, GiveMeSport will take a look at the players who preceded Mount’s historic victory and how their careers have panned out ever since.

2002 – Fernando Torres

A familiar face to kick off the list. Torres would go onto enjoy a successful career with Atletico Madrid, Liverpool and Chelsea as well as being considered the world’s best striker in his prime.

2003 – Alberto Aquilani

Another player who would end up at Liverpool, but with far less success. The Italian was released from his contract at Las Palmas this summer after spells with AS Roma, AC Milan and Juventus.

2004 – Juanfran

The Spanish full-back has gone onto enjoy over 200 appearances with Atletico Madrid despite rising up the ranks at their deadly rivals. He’s been a Champions League runner-up on two occasions.

2005 – Abdoulaye Balde

It’s been a pretty spectacular fall from grace for Balde, who now finds himself playing below the fifth tier of French football with Lucon FC.

2006 – Alberto Bueno

Another Real Madrid prospect who’s experienced mixed fortunes since their time in the spotlight, Bueno now makes a living with Porto. He never made it past under-21 level for his country.

2007 – Sotiris Ninis

Over 30 caps for your country represents decent success, but Ninis has never really attracted attention outside of his native land. He can now be found with Israel’s Hapoel Ashkelon.

2008 – Lars and Sven Bender

That’s right, not only did two players win the award in 2008 but two brothers. Lars has been a long-term servant of Bayer Leverkusen and Sven has joined him after time at Borussia Dortmund.

2009 – Kyrylo Petrov

Despite plenty of hype around his performances, Petrov would never reach the senior Ukrainian side and currently finds himself in Azerbaijan with Neftci PFK.

2010 – Gael Kakuta

A familiar name for Chelsea fans, the 27-year-old never reached his potential and has since swapped international allegiances to DR Congo. Rayo Vallecano are his current employers in Spain.

2011 – Alex Fernandez

Over 99 appearances for Real Madrid B is no guarantee of success and Fernandez never represented Spain as a senior player. He’s now in the Segunda Division with Cadiz.

2012 – Gerard Deulofeu

A Spanish prospect who enjoyed more success than his predecessor, Deulofeu made 23 appearances for Barcelona across two spells and now plays for Watford.

2013 – Aleksandar Mitrovic

Another player who has turned their attention to the Premier League recently, it’s hard to image Mitrovic as an up and coming prospect. He current faces a relegation battle with Fulham.

2014 – David Selke

The ‘Golden Player’ award, caps for Germany U21, a place in the Olympic team but still no breakthrough for a highly touted prospect who now represents Hertha Berlin.

2015 – Marco Asensio

Despite experiencing a tough 2018-19 with Real Madrid, he is undoubtedly one of the most successful players on the list and is backed to win the Ballon d’Or later in his career.

2016 – Jean-Kevin Augustin

The last player on the list before the current incumbent, there’s still hope surrounding Augustin’s career and he’s enjoying a solid platform to progress with RB Leipzig.

Which do you think has been the most successful? Have your say in the comments section below.

News Now - Sport News