Golf

.

Tiger Woods caused a stir by avoiding penalty for his 18th hole shot at Hero World Challenge

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Tiger Woods’ Tour Championship win in late September capped off a remarkable comeback for the 42-year-old.

His stirring win at East Lake Golf Course was met with cheering and chanting by those in attendance as he secured his first title in more than five years.

Hoping to continue his triumph end to the 2018 season, Woods is currently in Albany for the Hero World Challenge.

Day two looked very promising for the veteran as he reached the final hole five under par and without a blemish on his card.

However, Wood’s fortunes took a turn for worse on the 18th when he hit his drive off the tee into a bush on the right of the fairway.

The American was faced with a decision after the tournament host determined he could stab his ball back onto grass rather than take a penalty drop for an unplayable lie.

Rather ambitiously, Woods opted for the former option.

Down on one knee and with only a few inches of backswing to work with, he managed to swipe the ball from underneath the tree, beyond the sandy waste area and into the rough.

Hero World Challenge - Round Two

But what looked a great escape at first glance, Woods has come under fire after slow-motion replays show he unwittingly played a double-hit.

Additionally, there was also a suggestion Woods may have 'pushed, scraped or spooned' the ball to infringe Rule 14-4.

Such offences usually incur a one-shot penalty, but to the dismay of several golf fans, Woods got off scot-free despite admitting replays indicated his shot wasn't legitimate.

Looking at the video below, it’s not difficult to see why they’re at odds with the decision.

Woods went unpunished because Decision 34-3/10 (which took effect in April last year) limits the use of video evidence in support of an infraction.

In simple terms, the USGA rulebook states actions can only be judged by what can be seen with the naked eye.

It’s an interesting way of enforcing the laws of the game, especially in comparison to the hi-tech methods employed in other sports.

Whether or not Woods deserved to be sanctioned, his otherwise excellent round ended three-under-par on 69 after his controversial double bogey.

What do you make of the decision on Woods' shot? Let us know what you think by leaving a comment below.

Topics:
Tiger Woods
Golf

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again