Phil Dowd explains whether Alexandre Lacazette's 'goal' v Man Utd should have stood


Wednesday night’s Premier League clash between Manchester United and Arsenal produced four goals, three of which were rather bizarre.

David de Gea made an uncharacteristic gaffe for Shkodran Mustafi’s opener midway through the first half, while Marcos Rojo netted an own goal in the 68th minute.

Jesse Lingard equalised less than a minute later, however, as United responded with a direct attack straight from kick-off.

There was an even more bizarre goal, scored by Arsenal striker Alexandre Lacazette, in the 88th minute of the match - but it was disallowed by referee Andre Marriner.

The French forward noticed De Gea only had one hand on the ball and decided to head it out of the Spanish goalkeeper’s grasp before slotting it into the unguarded net.

Watch the incident here...

Marriner disallowed the ‘goal’, much to the confusion of some football fans on social media.

Goals similar to this have been allowed to stand in the past - so was Marriner right to disallow it? Should Arsenal have actually picked up all three points at Old Trafford instead of one?

Well, former Premier League referee Phil Dowd knows the answer to that question.


Speaking on BT Sport following the 2-2 draw, Dowd informed viewers: “The law has changed, I don't know when.

"He is considered to be in control of the ball when he has it in both hands, one hand, his outstretched hand or between any other surface.

"He has the ball in his hand, he is in control at all time and cannot be challenged. Therefore the foul was given."

So, there you have it: Marriner *was* right to disallow Lacazette’s goal.


The old rule allowing players to knock the ball out of a keeper’s hand no longer exists.

Lacazette clearly wasn’t aware of this, otherwise he wouldn’t have tried it. But full marks to Arsenal’s number nine for giving it a go.

De Gea’s calm reaction, though, suggests he knew there was never any danger of the goal being given.

A few football fans echoed Dowd’s words by taking screenshots of the laws of the game, which clearly states that the goalkeeper is in control of the ball even if they only have one hand on it.

Every day is a school day, eh?

News Now - Sport News