Five nominated for Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year award

  • Tom Kelly

Each year, the Boxing Writers Associations finalise a ballot for separate categories with one of the most important being the Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year award.

This particular award has been won by the likes of Rocky Marciano, Muhammad Ali and Floyd Mayweather over the years, so it’s safe to say it’s fairly prestigious.

Furthermore,Vasiliy Lomachenko is the current holder of the award, while British boxer Carl Frampton won it the year before. 

The Boxing Writers Association has now singled down their nominees to just five, and here are the boxers who are in running for the award.

Terence Crawford

An undefeated welterweight fighter who’s had 34 fights, with 25 of these resulting in a knockout.

Furthermore, Crawford gave up his position as the undisputed champion of the junior welterweight title in order to fight Jeff Horn in a higher weight class. 

Crawford defeated Horn with a ninth round knockout, making Crawford a champion in three separate divisions. 

Mikey Garcia

Mikey Garcia will be putting himself in good stead as he has impressed across multiple divisions and is now currently a four-division title holder after defeating Sergey Lipinets in February.

Not to mention, he has an undefeated record of 39-0.

Maurice Hooker

Hooker is next on the list and this fighter appears to have a taste of defeating fighters in their own backyards.

The 25-3 boxer took on Terry Flanagan in Manchester for a vacant belt and won by a split decision.

Furthermore, Hooker traveled to Oklahoma City to take on Alex Saucedo for the same belt before knocking him out in the seventh round. 

Vasiliy Lomachenko

The current holder of the Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year award, the Ukrainian is regarded as one of the best pound-for-pound fighters that this generation has to offer.

Lomachenko is also the unified lightweight champion after knocking out Jorge Linaries in the later rounds to become a title owner in three separate divisions. 

Oleksandr Usyk

Yet another Ukrainian, however, Usyk has been making waves in the welterweight division.

Usyk is an undefeated fighter who won the World Boxing Super Series tournament and is just the fourth person to become the unified and undisputed welterweight champion of the world.

His won over Tony Bellew earlier this year skyrocketed his popularity, and his future in the heavyweight division could be something to keep your eyes on.

Regarding the results, the winner will be announced at the 94th annual BWAA dinner which is set to take place during the early months of 2019. 

News Now - Sport News