Football

Did Kane dive to win the penalty?.

Football fans think Harry Kane dived to win penalty v Chelsea after seeing different angle

Published Add your comment

Football News
24/7

Tottenham beat Chelsea 1-0 in the first leg of the Carabao Cup semi-final at Wembley - but it wasn’t without its controversy.

Harry Kane scored the only goal of the game from the penalty spot after he was brought down by Kepa Arrizabalaga.

But it came after he was flagged offside - a decision that was eventually overturned by VAR.

Referee Michael Oliver saw his assistant’s flag but allowed play to carry on. The outcome saw Kane go down in the box under the challenge of Kepa.

It was now time for VAR.

Firstly, was Kane offside?

VAR ruled that he wasn’t - although images have since emerged suggesting that he probably was.

But the second - and most important - decision was whether or not it was a penalty.

At first, it seemed a stonewall spot-kick.

However, after seeing one certain camera angle, fans are convinced Kane actually dived.

p1d0orbqge1gsr1ddu178417djem4d.jpg

It shows the decision from behind and many football fans are pointing out that Kane clasped his feet together and dived over the top of Kepa.

DID HARRY KANE DIVE?

Take a look and check out the reaction from football fans:

After the match, Kane was asked what he thought of the controversy and he insisted that it was a “clear penalty.”

"I played to the whistle,” Kane said on Sky Sports.

“I ran through and it was a clear penalty. It was whether I was offside or not. I wasn't sure. VAR is there for a reason and I'm sure they've got it right."

Tottenham Hotspur v Chelsea - Carabao Cup: Semi-Final First Leg

Either way, Spurs' 1-0 victory over Chelsea in the first-leg has set up the semi-final perfectly.

Chelsea host the north Londoners in the second-leg on January 24 as they seek to win the first trophy in the English calendar.

Topics:
Football
Kepa Arrizabalaga
Harry Kane
Premier League
Tottenham Hotspur
Chelsea

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author

DISCLAIMER

This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of GiveMeSport.com or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. GiveMeSport.com and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again