Jurgen Klopp broke FA regulations with his comments about Kevin Friend after West Ham draw

West Ham United v Liverpool FC - Premier League

It’s been a difficult seven days for Liverpool.

Last Wednesday, Jurgen Klopp’s side faced Leicester at Anfield knowing a win would put them seven points clear of Manchester City at the top of the Premier League.

They looked on course to do just that after Sadio Mane put them 1-0 ahead inside just three minutes but Harry Maguire’s equaliser saw the Reds drop two points.

And following City’s 3-1 win against Arsenal, Liverpool drew another game 1-1 after Mane had given them the lead at the London Stadium against West Ham.

It means Pep Guardiola’s side have the chance to go ahead of Liverpool if they beat Everton at Goodison Park on Wednesday.

From potentially seven points clear to second place in a week.

It’s no wonder the Klopp appeared frustrated after Liverpool’s 1-1 draw with West Ham on Monday night.

The German boss took his frustrations out on the officials at the final whistle, marching onto the pitch to remonstrate with them.

West Ham United v Liverpool FC - Premier League

That’s despite Mane’s opener being allowed even though James Milner was yards offside in the build-up.

Klopp knew that but felt referee Kevin Friend also knew that.

He suggested that Friend tried to even things up in the second-half because he knew his assistant referee had made a mistake.

“I heard our goal was offside, I'm pretty sure the ref knew that in the second half. In 50-50 situations or 60-40 it was always a free-kick for the other team, which was hard and did not make life easy," Klopp said after the match.

"As a human being, if I know I have made a big mistake in the first half, I don't want to open the gap any more. Referees are obviously human beings, and I understand that, but I didn't during the game because I had no clue that our goal was offside.”


And now Klopp could be in trouble.

Under FA Rule E3, managers and players are allowed to “criticise the performance or competence” of officials.

However, the regulations state: “A participant will be considered in breach of Rule E3 is their media comments about a match official imply bias, attack their integrity or are particularly personally offensive in nature.”

By Klopp clearly accusing Friend of bias, he’s obviously broken that regulation.

FA disciplinary chiefs will now await Friend’s match report to see if he was offended by anything Klopp said to him.

Whether it will just be a hefty fine or a ban remains to be seen.

But if the FA follow its own rulebook, Klopp can expect to be hearing from them within three days.

News Now - Sport News