UEFA send tweets explaining why Nicolas Tagliafico's effort was ruled out in Ajax v Real Madrid

Nicolas Tagliafico's effort was ruled out by VAR

Ajax gave Real Madrid an almighty scare in their Champions League first leg tie on Wednesday night.

The Dutch outfit played some lovely football on the night and could have been ahead in the first 45 minutes.

However, they were not able to find the opener, and Karim Benzema made them play as he broke the deadlock on the hour mark.

Hakim Ziyech restored parity with 15 minutes remaining, but Marco Asensio's late goal made sure Los Blancos would head to the second leg in Spain with a goal advantage.

It seems as if Madrid will cruise through to the quarter-finals of the competition.

However, the result on the night could have been very different.

Ajax appeared to take the lead in the first half when Nicolas Tagliafico headed past Thibaut Courtois.

However, his header was later ruled out by VAR.

Watch it below:

No one would have been more relieved than Courtois, who made a disastrous error in the build-up.

But should the goal have stood? It was highly controversial, with many thinking that Ajax rightly took the lead.

Even Courtois and most of Real Madrid's players looked resigned to being 1-0 down.

Interestingly, UEFA took to Twitter to explain the decision.

Tadic appeared to block Courtois

In two tweets, they explained exactly why the referee decided to rule out the goal.

"VAR in the UCL: in the 38th minute of the Ajax v Madrid first leg, Nicolás Tagliafico’s headed goal was ruled out following a VAR review.

"The referee identified that Tagliafico’s team-mate Dušan Tadić was in an offside position and interfering with the goalkeeper - preventing him from playing or being able to play the ball – as the header was being made.

"This was in line with VAR protocol and the goal was correctly overturned and a free-kick given for offside."

Interesting stuff. Fair play to UEFA for giving fans clarity on exactly why the goal was ruled out.

Courtois explained after the game that the thought the referee had made the right decision.

"The correct decision? I think so. When it happened I thought it could be offside. When the guy headed it I wanted to go and catch it," Courtois said after the win.

"Because of his [Tadic's] intention I made a quick movement. Luckily for VAR, because nobody would have seen it."

What do you think? Should the goal have stood? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

News Now - Sport News