Terriers on rise

Published Add your comment

Football News

Huddersfield moved third in npower League One after Jamie McCombe's late header earned them a 2-1 win over leaders Brighton.

Seagulls striker Glenn Murray had a penalty saved in the first half but put his side ahead in the 54th minute, only for Jordan Rhodes to level two minutes later before McCombe sealed all three points for the hosts.

Sheffield Wednesday moved into the second automatic promotion spot behind Brighton with an emphatic 6-2 victory over Bristol Rovers at Hillsborough.

Will Hoskins headed Rovers in front but Chris Sedgwick, Tommy Miller, Gary Teale and Jermaine Johnson put the Yorkshire outfit in control.

Hoskins struck again but substitutes James O'Connor and Paul Heffernan replied for Wednesday, who were watched by incoming chairman Milan Mandaric.

Bournemouth are down to fifth after James Brown's wonder-strike earned Hartlepool a 1-0 win at Dean Court, while Colchester's goalless draw with Yeovil saw them move up into sixth place at the expense of Oldham, whose game against Swindon was postponed.

At the other end, Notts County hauled themselves out of the relegation zone with a 2-0 win over MK Dons. Thomas Ince's 86th-minute screamer set father Paul on the way to victory over his former club, with fellow substitute Lee Hughes making sure of the points while Aaron Wilbraham saw red for the Dons.

Third-bottom Dagenham and Redbridge pulled off a shock win at Carlisle with late goals from Medy Elito and Danny Green, taking them to within four points of safety.

Tranmere, meanwhile, slipped a place to 20th after being beaten 2-1 at home by Leyton Orient and are now clear of the drop zone on goal difference alone.

Elsewhere, Brentford ran out 2-0 winners at Southampton and Plymouth defeated Exeter by the same scoreline.

Copyright (c) PA Sport 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Do YOU want to write for GiveMeSport? Get started today by signing-up and submitting an article HERE:

Yeovil Town
Colchester United
Jamie McCombe
Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons
Sheffield Wednesday
Jordan Rhodes
Aaron Wilbraham
Tommy Miller
Gary Teale
Medy Elito
Jermaine Johnson
League One
James O'Connor
Huddersfield Town
Swindon Town
Medy Elito
Will Hoskins
Lee Hughes
Carlisle United
Oldham Athletic
James O'Connor
James Brown
Chris Sedgwick
Thomas Ince
Plymouth Argyle
Tranmere Rovers
Leyton Orient
Paul Heffernan
Notts County
Brighton & Hove Albion
Glenn Murray

Article Comments

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again

Like our GiveMeSport Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to G+, don't ask me again