Ferrari reigns supreme as F1 prize money payments for 2019 are released

F1 Winter Testing in Barcelona - Day Four

Despite not winning a single championship for a decade, Ferrari still remain the leader in terms of the financial aspect of the sport.

The Italian giants are set to pocket the largest share of Formula One’s prize money, despite finishing behind arch-rivals Mercedes last year, according to Race Fans.

Prize money projections made by the Liberty Media for 2019 reveal the allocations are made based on how the teams fared in 2018 championship.

The total of $1,004million is slated to be divided among the teams, according to the sport’s commercial rights holder, with Ferrari recovering $205m, closely followed by Mercedes with $177m in second.

Red Bull slots in at third with $152m, while McLaren and Renault wrap up the top five with $100m and $73m respectively.

Haas comes in sixth acquiring $70m, after achieving their best result in 2018 finishing in fifth, saw the most rise in income percentage at 32.1%.

Although, the net payment received by the UK-based outfit is just $10m more than Williams, who ended their campaign last year at the bottom.

Williams, Racing Point, Sauber and Toro Rosso complete the table receiving $60m, $59m, $56m and $52m respectively.

The income has been broken into three parts – ‘Column One’ is a fixed share of revenue paid to all teams finishing in top 10 in two of the last three seasons.

(Image below provided by Race Fans)


‘Column Two’ comprises of the prize money paid in a sliding scale depending upon the positions the teams ended in the previous championship.

On top of that, a ‘Constructors’ Championship Bonus’ is paid to four teams, while three other teams receive bonus payments between $10m [Williams] to $35m [Mercedes and Red Bull].

Meanwhile, a ‘Long-Standing Team’ payment is acquired by Ferrari alone worth $73m, meaning the Scuderia team has received the most money among all teams on a consistent basis since the current prize payment structure was introduced back in 2013.

Racing Point will also be awarded with the ‘Column One’ payment despite them being the new entrant last year, as claims were raised that they should not qualify for the same as they have not fulfilled the criteria of finishing in the top 10 twice in the previous three seasons, as mentioned above.

News Now - Sport News