Mark Clattenburg says referee's decision to give penalty in PSG v Man Utd was correct

Mark Clattenburg thinks the penalty was correctly given in PSG v Man United

Against all odds, Manchester United are through to the quarter-finals of the Champions League.

They trailed by two goals going into the second leg in Paris, a deficit that seemed insurmountable to some.

But Romelu Lukaku gave United the perfect start as United took the lead after just two minutes.

PSG restored parity on the night through Juan Bernat, but Lukaku got his second before the break to put United one goal away from victory.

With the game in stoppage time, United were given a controversial penalty after Diogo Dalot's strike hit the arm of Presnel Kimpembe.

Marcus Rashford had never taken a penalty for United, but he stepped up and lashed his spot-kick past Gianluigi Buffon.

PSG could not find a goal and United held on to claim one of the most remarkable comebacks in Champions League history.

There are some that think that the penalty should not have stood, including Neymar.

The penalty did look dubious and you can watch the incident below:

When these sort of decisions come about, it's best to seek the opinion of the sport's best referees.

Mark Clattenburg has been one of England's best referees and, according to the rules of the game, he argues that the penalty should have stood.

"The referee has made the right decision in awarding Manchester United their late penalty following the handball by Presnel Kimpembe - he has applied the laws as UEFA wish them to be," he wrote in his column for the Daily Mail.

"It has been given because of UEFA’s recent instruction to referees, which came about after Manchester City conceded a similar penalty at Schalke last month.

Marcus Rashford tussles with Presnel Kimpembe

"They want referees to give handball when the arm is out and is in a non-natural position, and to that end the referee has been consistent here."

Former Premier League referee Peter Walton also thought that penalty was correctly given.

"We sat here, we watched it and the way Kimpembe has gone up there, he's left his arm out, he's turned his back, he's taken no responsibility for where that ball is striking, he's made himself bigger," Walton said on BT Sport, per the Mirror.

"The VAR, a huge decision, that's exactly why VAR has been brought into operation here, has got to make sure that a) the contact was inside the area so therefore he can then adjudicate on it as it's a possible penalty kick.

Marcus Rashford celebrates his winner

"Kimpembe there, he's just hung himself out.

"For me, that's a handball. He hasn't tried to get his arm out the way, he's turned his back and hasn't taken responsibility for his arm.

"It's struck his arm, his arm is bigger and that's a penalty kick.

"As the law is written at the moment, that's handball."

What do you think: was it a penalty or not? Have your say by leaving a comment below.

News Now - Sport News