Leicester Riders' Women Crowned WBBL Trophy Champions

Leicester Riders Women Crowned WBBL Trophy Champions

Leicester Riders' Women retained the Betty Codona WBBL Trophy with a hard fought 76-74 win over Durham Palatinates at Emirates Arena over the weekend. 

The win marks the second WBBL title won by the Riders in the club's history, just 12 months since they won the same competition last year.

Durham leave Glasgow with their heads held high, having pushed the Riders until the very end. 

Leading scorers - Claire Paxton 18, Kate Oliver 16, Brea Elmore 13 (Riders); Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby / Theairra Taylor 18, Rudiane Eduardo 14 (Palatinates)

Leicester Riders Women WBBL Trophy

"Huge congratulations to our players and the organisation. And a big congratulation to Durham for making it here today. I knew it was going to be a tough game - we knew it would take the full 40 minutes." Jesper Sundberg, Riders coach

The Riders wrestled back the game's momentum after the half-time break, having earlier seen their double-digit advantage erased by Durham in the second quarter.

Leicester opened the third period on a 12-4 run to keep the opposition at arm's length: despite Durham coming within a basket, down the stretch, the deficit proved too much to overcome.

In a game of fine margins, Leicester shot the ball with greater efficiency, hitting 41% of their attempts, compared to Durham's 33% shooting.

Oliver got the Riders off to a fast start and continued her impressive display throughout the remainder of the contest, pouring in 16 points to go along with eight rebounds and five blocks. Paxton also proved pivotal with a team-high 18 points, shooting 8/9 from the floor.

Leicester Riders Women

"It's amazing - it feels good. We knew that they were gonna come out fighting so we had to come out even harder and I think we did a great job,” said Kate Oliver, Finals MVP - Riders forward.

News Now - Sport News