Football fans vote on who should win the 2018-19 PFA Player of the Year award

Published Add your comment

Football News

Virgil van Dijk is the heavy favourite to win the PFA Player of the Year award this season.

The centre-back has been a colossus at the heart of defence for Liverpool, helping the Reds keep 17 clean sheets in the Premier League.

Incredibly, Van Dijk hasn’t been dribbled past by an opponent once, despite playing 2,755 minutes in the top flight. Talk about dominance.

He’s also provided 163 clearances, 16 blocks, 36 interceptions, won 198 duels and completed 2,213 passes, ranking first in every category for Liverpool this season.

There’s a case to be made for Van Dijk being the best centre-back not just in England but in the world, and Jurgen Klopp knows how fortunate he is to have the 27-year-old.

“You could write a book about his skills, his strengths, how much I like him, what a fantastic person he is," Klopp said after Liverpool’s Champions League win against Bayern Munich, per Sky Sports.

Van Dijk faces competition from Manchester City duo Sergio Aguero and Raheem Sterling for the award but he’s fully expected to come out on top.


Van Dijk receives 59% of votes in fan poll

More than 48,000 fans voted in a Sky Sports poll to determine who should win the award, and Van Dijk collected 59 per cent of the vote.

Aguero was second with 15 per cent and Sterling collected 13 per cent.

Virgil van Dijk - 59%

Sergio Aguero - 15%

Raheem Sterling - 13%

Paul Pogba - 4%

Son Heung-min - 3%

Sadio Mane - 2%

Eden Hazard - 2%

Mohamed Salah - 1%

David Silva - 1%

Harry Kane - 0%

The poll collected a total of 48,311 votes, and Van Dijk received more than half of them. That’s a convincing win for the Netherlands international.

Liverpool FC v Watford FC - Premier League

But he’ll be much more desperate to win the Premier League with Liverpool.

Klopp’s side currently lead the way by two points but they have played one more match than Man City, who have won 19 of their last 20 matches in all competitions.

Virgil van Dijk
Sadio Mane
Mohamed Salah
Jurgen Klopp
Paul Pogba
Raheem Sterling
Eden Hazard
Premier League
Sergio Aguero
Wayne Rooney
Manchester City

Read more

Report author of article

Please let us know if you believe this article is in violation of our editorial policy, please only report articles for one of the following reasons.

Report author


This article has been written by a member of the GiveMeSport Writing Academy and does not represent the views of or SportsNewMedia. The views and opinions expressed are solely that of the author credited at the top of this article. and SportsNewMedia do not take any responsibility for the content of its contributors.

Want more content like this?

Like our GiveMeSport Facebook Page and you will get this directly to you.

Already Subscribed to Facebook, don't ask me again

Follow GiveMeSport on Twitter and you will get this directly to you.

Already Following, don't ask me again