India name their 15-man squad for the 2019 cricket World Cup - Pant misses out

India v Australia Previews

India have named their 15-man squad for the 2019 cricket World Cup in England.

The BCCI have opted to choose experienced wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik, over the young starlet Rishabh Pant.

The 21-year-old is arguably one of India’s brightest young talents and is a proven run-scorer in the middle order.

Chief selector MSK Prasad said: “We've seen Karthik finishing matches under pressure. Pant is full of talent. He has time on his hands.”

Virat Kohli will captain the two-time World Champions, with veteran opening batsman Rohit Sharma taking the vice-captaincy.

The squad in full:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MSD (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami

India kick-off their campaign against South Africa on June 5 at the Ageas Bowl.

News Now - Sport News