The six-man shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year award has been revealed

Liverpool FC v Burnley FC - Premier League

The six-man shortlist for the PFA Player of the Year has been announced.

Liverpool duo Virgil van Dijk and Sadio Mane are included, as well as Manchester City trio Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva.

Chelsea’s Eden Hazard makes up the six.

But there’s no space for last season’s winner Mohamed Salah.

The award is voted for by members of the PFA meaning every single Premier League player gets a vote.

But players are unable to vote for a player from the same club.

The six players in line for PFA Young Player of the Year have also been announced.

Sterling and Silva, both 24, make the shortlist and are joined by Trent Alexander-Arnold, Declan Rice, David Brooks and Marcus Rashford.

According to a report in The Times, Van Dijk is set to pick up the main award ahead of Sterling. Meanwhile, the Man City man is set to win the Football Writers' award.

Van Dijk actually admitted he voted for Sterling, who has scored 17 Premier League goals this season registering nine assists.

Van Dijk said: “I voted for Raheem Sterling. I did what I thought and I thought he deserves it. He’s had a fantastic season. I think I could have voted for Bernardo Silva as well and another couple of players from Manchester City. But I am just being honest. I think he has improved a lot as a player. We will see if he wins it.”

Southampton FC v Liverpool FC - Premier League

The winner will be officially announced on Sunday, April 28 at an award ceremony in London.

The PFA Young Player of the Year will also be announced, as well as the teams of the year from each division.

Of course, a lot depends on the outcome of the Premier League title race. Liverpool currently lead Manchester City by two points but have played an extra match. 

It does seem odd for the votes to have been counted more than a month before the end of the campaign, not knowing who will be crowned champions.


Those that voted for Van Dijk may well want to change their minds if Sterling and City go on to win the league.

But either way, both Van Dijk and Sterling have been incredible in 2018/19 and have quite rightly been recognised for that.

News Now - Sport News