Nasser Hussain and Michael Atherton name their England World Cup squads

England v Pakistan - 5th Royal London ODI

With the tournament just around the corner, World Cup fever has hit Sky Sports and punditry duo Nasser Hussain and Michael Atherton have selected their 15-man squads ahead of England's 5th ODI against Pakistan at Headingley.

The final squad is set to be announced on Tuesday and with some many quality players vying for a spot the former England captains have named who they would have picked.

Hussain's first 11 are the 11 he believes got England to the world no. 1 spot, with the obvious exclusion of Alex Hales, and are the 11 that have achieved success in white ball cricket. 

Vince was the obvious selection as a backup batsman but the biggest debate that surrounds the squad regards the balance of the fast bowlers and despite the extra pace Wood offers, Hussain has plumped for Archer and Curran instead.

Nasser Hussain's squad: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer.

Meanwhile, Atherton has selected pretty much the same squad as Hussain, apart from the inclusion of Wood, rather than Willey.

He mentioned how he believes this involves England's strongest team with Archer, Wood and Woakes, who have been excellent bowling in the first powerplay. In what is expected to be a very high-scoring World Cup, it's understandable why he's gone with those who can offer a bit of extra pace.

Intriguingly, Dawson is preferred to Denly in both of the pundits' squads despite the latter being picked ahead of the Hampshire spinner during the series v Pakistan. While Atherton labelled the decision to choose between, Curran, Plunkett and Willey as 'horrendous' - before eventually leaning with the aforementioned duo.

Plunkett has more wickets in the middle of matches than any other bowler since the last World Cup, so it's understandable why he is in both pundits' squads.

Michael Atherton's squad: Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Jofra Archer, James Vince, Liam Dawson, Tom Curran, Liam Plunkett.

News Now - Sport News